Steemit - A bit overwhelming to be honeststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

As a crypto-enthusiast always on the look-out for the 'next big thing,' I still find steemit to be one of the most compelling blockchain use cases I've seen. More than perhaps any other service or medium, social networking needs a decentralized solution. Most active participants in social media are desperate for a self-governing solution absent of interference from private or political interests.
Reddit in particular has suffered a number of black eyes over the past year that further underscore the need for an open system ruled by the masses.
That being said, I find my daily use of steemit something short of the initial promise I thought it held. I'm not sure if the issues are strictly with my mindset, inherent in the system, or some of both. I hope for feedback here that may enlighten me or set the record straight.
First, I find myself very preoccupied with upvotes, resteems, downvotes, estimated rewards, reputation, etc... Often I catch myself evaluating the effect an upvote might have on my personal standing on steemit rather than simply naturally upvoting what I like. I admit that I'd like to be more influential (who wouldn't?) so I think about the reputation of the person I'm about to upvote and resteem to consider if it will benefit me. The point is - I don't act naturally. From a fair bit of reading I've done here, I don't appear to be the only one. When there is a defined system, people try to take advantage of it (I don't mean that negatively but practically).
Second, I don't have a clear understanding of the very system I'm preoccupied with :-) I have the perception that the early adopters have all the 'juice' and the best the rest of us can do is try to catch onto their coat-tails. When I was first contributing here six months ago I worked very hard to bring fresh, unique, well prepared content and it got no attention. I acknowledge the issue might be it was crap - but I've seen plenty of posts earning massive returns which are thin on content to be kind.
The short version is I don't get it. Should I forget the rules of the game and just 'behave normally,' or will that prevent me from ever building any kind of following here? Should I study the system and try to game it, then relax and coast?
I'm curious to get feedback from long-term users and hope you can shed some insight. I'd like to think steemit can fall into my daily rotation of online social interaction.
Thanks,
ohgeegeo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79