It's My One Year Steemiversary!!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In Which Generikat Joyfully Reflects


IMG_9513.JPG

A little over a year ago I was trudging along, doing all manner of usual life stuff, when I decided to investigate this "Steemit" thing that my co-worker kept telling me about. As an avaricious consumer of information, I had an awareness of what cryptocurrency was, yet I also was a complete neophyte in all things blockchain. Flash forward a few clicks and a bit of typing later and I was the proud owner of my very own Steemit account. My username just came to me, and I decided to start my journey on this lovely platform by posting some stories from my logging camp inhabiting youth.


My first Steemit post!


Talk about a steep learning curve! Markdown sounded like a friend sprawled on the ground to me. Steem, Steem Power, and SBD what? I have to host my pictures before I can post them? Tags? Er. There was definitely a bit of information overload in the beginning. I had to weed through more terminology than a textile buyer bad polyester, but I just invoked my librarian skills and began searching, and reading, and experimenting. And writing.

Little by little my confidence grew. My life is so incredibly full of responsibilities and experiences off of Steemit, so I know that my posts aren't as beautifully formatted as I would like them to be, but they are always presented to the best of my ability, and for that reason I am a more than a bit proud of where I have gotten to in this journey.

Along the way I have witnessed a lot of interesting "stuff" here on Steemit. Hard forks, Steem price increases, steem price decreases, a certain troll named after a sphincter, whale flagging experiments, lots of negativity about the site, lots of positivity about the site, the bots versus manual curating debate, people quitting, people returning, spam-a-lam-a-ding-dong, explosive user growth, and the list goes on and on. Every day brings a new bit of drama and a new bit of something to learn. I love it.

The greatest aspect about Steemit that I have derived as a user from the platform aside from a much needed confidence boost regarding my writing ability, is the relationships made with folks that make up the community. There is, for the most part, this amazing cordial spirit present in our Steemiverse, and I am so thankful to be a part of that community pool.

Extra special thanks time:


@jacobtothe for introducing me to Steemit and being a constant supporter. You're a monster.

@cornerstone You are always there with your support, it is noticed and beyond appreciated. Thank you!

@lydon.sipe and his lovely wife for being a constant source of encouragement, #homeschoolersrock!

@chops316 I can always count on an amusing comment from ya my pal! Which reminds me, I need to knit you a hat or something to keep that gleaming dome of yours warm, winter is upon us! Heh.

@ddschteinn Words cannot even describe how awesome you are my dearest friend. Your ability to elicit a giggle with your word ninja skills is without compare.

@reddust Your talent is inspiring, and your presence on here is legend! I truly enjoy your awesomeness!

@meesterboom You sir, are a wordsmith in the highest form, have made me laugh out loud on numerous occassions, and are pretty much just excellent!

@mother2chicks Mother hen of Steemit, I am always excited to read a reply of yours, and can't wait to read of all your adventures in the Shaggin Wagon!

@rigaronib You are the coolest dude ever!! Okay, your entire family is beyond awesome as well:)!

@gringalicious Steemit food photo goddess! You are just too nice, super talented, and I have appreciated getting to know you.

@noboxes You and your amazing wife rock! Loved getting to meet you both, your support of Steemit and your family makes me smile everytime I think about it!

@papa-pepper Probably the hardest working, most generous person in existence! Your integrity and gumption inspired me a lot in the beginning, and still continues to do so!

@haphazard-hstead Two words: PINE POLLEN! You are a genius, I have learned so much from you, and your comments always make me feel useful!

@m31 Steemit's inner ponderer extraordinaire! I love coming across a new post of yours with their thoughts, music and word paintings of the day! The word inspire should include a picture of you next to it in the dictionary!

@creatr Maker of awesomeness, including encouragment! May you catch endless swells of masterful waves my friend!

@kaylinart: Such a talented person and amazing thinker you are! Thank you for your support:o)!

@suzique Thompson Falls peeps unite! You are just awesome!

@scribblingramma Both in real life and on Steemit you are a source of inspiration to me, thank you for it all, and for AAA!

@old-guy-photos For an old guy that likes to take photos you sure have had an impact around here, many thanks!

@journeyoflife You are too kind and always make me smile when I see one of your philosophical posts or thoughtful comments!

Warm thoughts abound towards: @doitvoluntarily, @creationofcare, @hanen, @goldendawne, @dinisanda, @denmarkguy, @amy-goodrich, @lifes-a-donut, @aunt-deb, @kiaraantonoviche, @alexis555, @ripperone, @blocktrades, @hendrikdegrote, @curie, @jlufer, @snowflake, and many, many more!

There are so many Steemians that deserve a special shout out, I cannot describe how much appreciation that I have for you all. Don't think I have forgotten anyone who has impacted my journey along the way, rather I am just fuzzy at the moment and a touch overwhelmed by the prospect of reflecting over the last year's journey. Plus, even though I feel no end of gratitude, I might be horrid at expressing it in the way that I would truly like. The curators and developers especially require a piece of GK cake! All that you create and facilitate is fantastical and completely admired by this Kat.

IMG_9514.JPG
Gonna keep my content creation candle burning!

Thank you to each and everyone of you that took the time to vote and thoughtfully comment on one of my posts! You are adored!!!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's always exuding gratitude iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Happy anniversay !! Wishing you many years of success ahead of you

Awe, thank you my friend! I wish for many years of success ahead for you too!

Congrats! Even if you do win entirely too often on game night.

Well, an almost well wish is better than none at all...."If I have to, I guess..." heh!

Thanks JT!

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for the shout out. Hey I still have some hair on that dome of mine. But going out in the cold without a hat isn't a good idea.

Let me continue this love fest by telling you how much I always enjoy your posts. Lots of good laughs. And I'm still looking for a wizard to ask if he found the ring.

I hope you and your family have a very happy Thanksgiving.

Awe, thank you, LOL, love fest! Ha ha!

I sincerely hope you find your wizard one day, you can take his hat...

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Chops!!

Congratulations my friend, you have grit!

Finest compliment evah! Now you'll have to excuse me, I have something in my eye....LOL!

Thank you for all that you do my pal!

Congrats on One Year!

Thanks for the mention, Kat!
Yes when looking at it from an outsider's point of view, there is indeed a steep learning curve.

Thank you, Sir!

You totally deserve accolades btw, I enjoy your contributions to Steemit immensely!

Oh yes, I smacked my face on that curve more than once, there were days in the beginning that I swear that I had perpetual headaches and humiliation red face more than once, lol! What a ride!

Happy Steemanniversay @generikat! May more years of fun stories and adventures to come! ^^

I am sorry, but I guess I failed with the challenge, been crazy busy lately. :/

Ah! Thank you so much @m31! I hope to attempt to entertain you all for many more years for sure!

LOL! No apologies are necessary, challenges are not mandatory, but a source of fun if one has the time. Busy in the real world is a good thing, well, I hope your busy time was good anyway. I have had company for the last three days and haven't been posting as much as I like, so I totally get it!

Well aren’t you just the sweetest. Homeschoolers rock indeed!

Dearest Kat, your writing fills our home with laughter and good vibes, not to mention sweet recipes that I am forever grateful for.

Happy Steemiversary! May you live long and prosper!

Awe! That was the most fantabulous reply evah! I will endeavor to get my inner Nemoy on and continue filling the old personal domicile with good vibes and yummy potential comestibles! The gratitude is super mutual my friend!

Happy Anniversary. Wishing you more success!

You are too kind! Thank you so much!

Happy anniversary on Steemit! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94