Minnow's Unite! Flagging is Censoring Your Work

in #steemit8 years ago

"Not shown due to low ratings" is killing the minnow!

No need to worry if you’re a whale or dolphin, or even a carp. But if you’re a minnow and someone flags your post for whatever reason they deem necessary, your post becomes censored!

Your pictures are "Not shown due to low ratings" when reading or viewing from the post boards, and while you’re competing with other posts, yours appears soo light and unreadable that everyone would completely pass it over.

I say this because I've heard others struggling with the same issue, and I finally had this happen to me today!

Within 20mins I had 10 upvotes bringing me to 6cents, and I was pumped. It could be a hit, but no, someone decided to flag it!

 I'm assuming they didn't agree with it, or didn't like it because I had made sure it was relevant to every hashtag I applied to it. I made every picture tie in with the post, but someone took it all down. They destroyed my work by 1downvote!  Since the downvoter, no more up votes obviously, you can’t even see my pictures...

Now I don't care about the 6cents. But this is a serious issue!

Obviously I had people viewing and up voting, 10 in 20mins is a good start. But with only 6cents, there voting weight is fairly low, probably some minnows... But then 1person comes in with a little power (bigger fish) and disagrees, or maybe a random bot throwing flags, and all of a sudden a minnow’s success becomes food for the carp!

 10 should always beat 1! 

Why does @dollarvigilante with 61 flags on his last post still have pictures visible? When my 1flag doesn't?

You can take away the money! But taking away the chances of others viewing and countering that 1vote is completely ridiculous.

This, I believe is something that could be easily abused and needs to be addressed. New minnows are what’s going to get this site into the record books. You need the small people because they are going to comprise 95% of the users on the site! They are what will bring the #'s up and gain worldwide attention.

By allowing 1 vote to censor a post that has more up votes than down votes, it could easily lead to manipulation and centralization of the message boards. 

Say someone posts in Photography and someone else posts at the same time... In order to get more attention, one could just get rid of the competition by flagging them. In this way, there post will be seen and competitions photos won’t be readily visible. Basically destroying that others post.

I propose,

That flagging/downvote shouldn't be so dramatic for the minnow! I believe the pictures should be visible even in flagging for the entire post pay period as long as there are up votes. If the post at the end of payout period contains more flags than up votes, OR, has a $0 payout, then you can make the images

"Not shown due to low ratings"

At least in this scenario, there is still the opportunity for others to come in and counter the damage done by the 1flag. Whales get that opportunity all the time, why doesn't the smaller fish get the same opportunity?


Without some serious change in the voting flagging system,

 I could see smaller bait fish feeding off many minnows

This could happen quite soon. If that happens, I don't see many "new" people succeeding. With-out new people, this place could quickly go downhill. 

So Minnows, speak up! We need change!



Thank you for reading and please comment.

Sort:  

Upvoted! I agree with your thoughts on this subject. Did the person that flagged you provide any explanation?

Thanks. Nope, I kindof figured they didn't agree with it.

Yeah when the faded text started appearing when people got flagged I had mixed feelings about it. I know when I open a YouTube video and it is like 90% dislikes I just bounce out and figure it is trash but with this you can get flagged by someone who has a vote worth more and you are finished. Then you can't repost the same thing or you get flagged for reposting.

Yes and also I think now you get a penalty if you post more than once a day... The system is clearly not favoring the minnows... #minnowsunite

I upvoted to bring back your photos for you.

It would have been very kind and considerate for @business to have left a reply with his reason for downvoting.

Oh i didn't even know you could see who downvotes/flags you. I guess i could have asked in that case?

I agree I got down flagged and the person left a comment. I was able to reply and we had a talk. He said he would remove the flag if I remove a tag but I can't remove the tag because the payout is done or something!!!

https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@endgame/minnowsunite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53