You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Whales, Good Curators and People's Expectations...

in #steemit8 years ago

When I was more active here, my take on curating was never for curation rewards, but I was expecting something in return: to connect with the people I was upvoting and develop some relationships. That rarely happened. I'm also a pretty prolific commenter (or was), and yet rarely got a comment back on my posts. I've read recently that steemit isn't even off the ground yet, and that its true product hasn't really launched. It's just up and running and working out its bugs. That may be. I haven't written it off yet. But I've largely stopped posting here because there isn't yet that sense of community that I was hoping for. I'm gonna save up my content and maybe a year from now there will be a community here to connect with.

Sort:  

That's why I like the SteemTrail intiative. It's goal is to build communities around different topics. For example, I'm helping curate the #Gardening tag and the #Foraging tag. It's not necessarily in the Steemit culture, yet, to support a community, or connect with people around specific tags. But that's a natural evolution, like Facebook groups and Google+ communities. It's too hard to see who upvoted to build community around that. The comments are so much better. At the smaller scale of communities defined by specific tags, it should be a lot easier to build up a culture of commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59