You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First 30 Days! What I've learned, and what I offer.

in #steemit7 years ago

Congratulations on reaching your first month without quitting due to frustration, or suffering from premature post induced death. :P

Small point of contention: You do not need to convert the Steem Dollars to Bitcoin. You can choose any coin the platforms support, which I highly suggest you do. The bitcoin fees are insane, and the transfers are slow. I personally use litecoin most times.

As for exchanges... Poloenix, or however you spell it, has been having major wallet issues with Steem. I use Bittrex, but I'm not sure if signups are open again yet. They were having lag issues, and that's likely why they disabled new signups for a while until they could upgrade their servers. I would guess from what I've heard that Binance might be the best after that. The ease of use of Blocktrades does provide some benefit to new users, however.

Your comic series looks interesting. I'll have to give it a look.

Sort:  

That's a good point, re: conversion. So you're saying that if you use Blocktrades, your cost to convert to Litecoin, say, will be less than your cost if you convert to Bitcoin?

But then, presumably, your fees/cost is still less when you transfer Steem to Bittrex or to Binance? (Someone recently told me that transferring Steem to Binance was free.)

At this point I'm just focusing on GDAX and powering up what I can here. Watching those candle charts can be kind of amazing. I'm also shocked that I can look at GDAX and get a pretty quick understanding of what's going on (the is rather than the why, anyway); whereas when I first looked at it, it looked like gibberish.

Absolutely. The rate for bitcoin is horrible.

Litecoin or Etherium, for example, isn't that bad. It's more than some.

It's likely more than Bittrex or Binance, because those are trading platforms, but it wasn't bad when I used it as a newb to convert SBD to Steem before I knew about the internal market.

The internal market isn't great for newbies, so part of me kind of wants to suggest that they use Blocktrades, just not Bitcoin.

I highly suggest everyone research the markets, and how to trade them, at least a little bit, so they know when to wait before converting at least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66