Today's Rant

in #steemit6 years ago

I have seen a lot of bad vibes going through Steem these last few weeks, I see a lot of posts complaining about the actions of others, for example:

  • People getting flagged
  • People not winning a contest
  • People not wanting their Steem holdings displayed
  • People disturbed by politics
  • People disturbed by religion
  • And many more

Let's look at them from my point of view, flagging I don't like, but as it is a fact of life I have to live with it as does everyone, the problem I see is if someone flags you because of a personal reason, or for a particular idea you have.

People can't always win contests, of course I would like to win in all contests I take part in, but contests on Steemit are mostly financed by the creator and whatever upvotes the contest gets, so the creator gets to choose who wins, maybe sometimes the choices are biased, but why should I complain? I'm just giving it a shot.

Now people are starting to get worried about people seeing how much Steem they hold in their accounts, stating they fear a real life assault to make them give their holdings to thieves. I guess that is fair enough, even though I think it is quite late for that, I know who the major holders are, imagine what an enterprising thief must know by now. Still if hiding these numbers is the way it goes, I personally don't care, even though then I wouldn't know who to try to convince to give me a vote for upvoting him or her or for just saying positive things about them in my comments.

People disturbed by politics, you post what you think about politics, I don't really care, sometimes I will see something I think is so wrong that I will comment back about it, but I don't really get upset, after all your political ideas are just that, your political ideas, and you are entitled to them.

Religious ideas are exactly the same as above, you can believe whatever you want to.

That is how I see the Steemit environment right now, there are a lot of people who take things too seriously, try to lighten up, we should in fact be here trying to support each other, I try to upvote at least 10 articles a day, I know my SP is crap but I do believe every drop counts, and I also comment at least on 10 posts a day, that is great because sometimes I do make a good comment, most of the time my comments and posts are crap but that goes with the territory, I am not Shakespeare.

Sort:  

Flag this comment!

Very funny as times when people don't have SBD and yet they will organise contests. There was one I did and it was all about voting, I took second position waiting for my SBD after campaigning for votes, but at the end of the day the organiser of the contest refused to pay. So I believe some people needs to be flagged for doing wrong things here on steemit

Agreed, what you saw was a scam, that definitely has to be taken care of. But also you have to see that the person who is hosting the contest does have either a large amount of Steem that can pay for the prizes or at least have a higher REP, a REP 25 Steemian would not be very likely to pay for prizes unless he has invested in Steem.

So right bro, something needs to be done

upvoted by kryptonia

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

got an upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29