Steemit Today

in #steemit6 years ago

Steem was up kind of in a freaky way yesterday, at one point I saw it up by 65%, for one day that is a lot. According to what I read most of this was due to a buying spree coming from one Korean exchange, I would like to think it was because of the communities deal or the coming advent of SMT, at least these would have been sure to make it sustainable. But I know things don't go the way one wants them to, so I figured this morning Steem would be way down again, and you know something it is down, but not as much as I feared it would be so it's OK with me, it has been floating around the $2.00 mark for a few hours.

We are now more or less following the Bitcoin trend and that is slowly going up, along with all other cryptos, I only see 5 in the top 100 that are not green, of course this is not saying they are in great shape as this is just comparing them against the awful days we had last week, but any positive turn in the market is good.

Now as for Steemit, I have seen a lot of articles posted by people who are completely against bid bots, whale votes, self up votes, and curation guilds. I have never liked bid bots, but have seen them as a necessary evil, they are not going away unless Stinc. does something about them, I do think they take away from Steemit as you have to pay for votes and actually the bot, as curator is the one that profits the most, it is a win/win for them.

The one I was surprised about is curation guilds, I thought everyone liked these, as a lot of people have benefited from these guilds (not me, I have never been up voted by any guild that I know of) but I think I understand what the people who don't like them are talking about, guilds constrain votes to their members, thus decreasing the chance for other members to get any attention or votes.

In fact this is the problem with all of these systems, people take their VP to vote themselves up or delegate it to a bot or guild and this VP benefits just the few people who have access to it via buying or membership, making it very hard for the rest of us to compete for votes because their are fewer people who actually curate personally, most or at least a lot are now using bots. But, again, this is supposed to be a completely free place with very few rules so I guess the people who do delegate votes or up vote themselves are completely right to do so.

So I think we are OK, not great but still on the right track, I hope the future will be as good as I expect it to be on Steemit.

Sort:  

I don't think that boys and Guilds are right way. Some one has more benefits then others. The can become abusers of system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42