Posting in Languages Other Than English

in #steemit7 years ago

Being from Honduras, my native tongue is Spanish, but since I started on Steemit I have always been posting English articles. Since today is Columbus day all over the continent I decided to give Spanish a try so I wrote an article about Columbus in Spanish.

The results were not good at all. I got the usual two votes from two up voting bots that always give me an up vote and only one from a Spanish speaking person. So at last I am sure why writing in Spanish does not have that much of an attraction for me, the market is too small and there are not that many whales or dolphins that are Spanish speakers. The only way to make it in Spanish is to join a guild, and I am not into that.

I guess this is similar in other languages also, I guess worse because the Spanish speaking base on Steemit is actually quite large, so I can imagine for people who can't speak English and have to write in their native tongues the going is even more difficult than for the average Steemian.

So I guess joining guilds, paying for bot up votes and resteems is the only way for these people to go, maybe that is why people are complaining so much about spam, a non English speaking person gets to have a template for one simple comment and uses it on any article he or she sees. Maybe it isn't agreeable to a lot of people but I guess everyone wants to make money and this is the only way they see to improve their presence.

So, after today I will stick to writing in English, at least I am sure more people will be able to read my posts, whether they vote for it or not depends on if they liked the post or not, but I do believe I have a way better chance of getting something by doing it in English than in any other language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54