How do they calculate curation rewards?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Does anyone know how the curation rewards are calculated? I have been trying to work this out to see if it is really more lucrative to up vote someone who is trending or if the reward is the same regardless of the value of the post you vote for.

My up vote at 100% right now is at 7 cents, so let's say 100 people with my same vote value up vote a post, that would give it a value of $7.00 right? 75% goes to the writer leaving $1.75 to be divided between the 100 people who voted on the post, giving each one 1.75 cents, or better said you get a return of 25% on your 7 cents up vote. So I tried this with someone who let's say is trending and has a 700 dollar post.

Now 7 cents is just 0.01% of the up voted value of this post, since the curation reward is again 25% or better said $175.00 I am going to get 0.01% of $175.00 which is again 1.75 cents. So I guess this is what you can expect to get back on your vote, 25% of your vote value, in 4 posts you up vote you get back what one of your votes costs.

I know that there is some calculation done depending on of what time you voted and some other variables which nobody that I have read has taken the time to explain. But if my math is right it makes no difference if you up vote a trending a hot or just a common post, you still get back 25% either way. I guess if they give you a premium for upvoting at the right time it still won't make a big difference on this percentage.

Has anyone worked this out? Am I right or do I have it all wrong?

Picture Source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13