Blogging on Steemit: Is It Worth it?

in #steemit7 years ago

Well we have another rainy day in this town, hasn't stopped raining from last night so my daily walk is out, the way the street floods here I could go out for my daily swim. So I am sitting here in front of this laptop and started thinking if it is worth it spending so much time on Steemit.

Well, first of all economically it is not much right now, and let's face it, despite a lot of people saying they aren't here for the money, they are here for the community, for the opportunity to open new horizons etc, that is crap, the primary reason for everyone to be here is to make money, if not you wouldn't even be having anything to do with crypto.

Now, at the moment Steem's price makes blogging here not so monetarily significant, except for the few trending authors, but also there are whales and dolphins who rake in a nice amount of money every day just by curating. For most of us though the income generated is not much and it has been further reduced by the appearance of all these upvote bots, people delegate their VP to these bots, get a nice return on it, and the people who do not use these upvote bots hardly get any votes. I really don't like these bots, but they have become a part of Steemit and there is nothing we can do.

Article wise I have read some very good articles, I have also read a few articles from some people who have frankly very crazy ideas, but I guess that is just a micro cosm of what the world is really like, I will not write about these people whom I think are kind of weird, perhaps they are OK and I am the one with the problem, but over all every day I do find articles worth reading even if I don't agree with them, so in that respect Steemit is doing good.

So do I think it is worth continuing on Steemit? Frankly most of the time I think it is worth it, but then sometimes I get kind of worn down and start thinking about quitting, but in the end I am making a few cents sometimes a few dollars a day and here every cent counts so I stick it out, and yes I am here for the money, haven't made much, but I don't think up to now I really have deserved much, probably I can become sometime in the future a good enough writer or at least well enough known to be able to make a reasonable amount every time I post.

So yes I think it is worth it, despite some drawbacks, people should stick it out, right now we are having a bad spell, but there can always be a better future, and I do hope people would stop delegating VP to bots and start curating manually, it is way fairer for good authors.

Thank you if you have come down this far, my ideas and comments might not be great but at least I have them and I write them down, maybe some good could come out of them.

Sort:  

Naw...it's not worth it.
You can make more money of facebook.
oh...wait..

I agree. Sometimes it is hard on here, but once in a while you get lucky. Perserverance and finding your audience helps a lot. I am kind of all over the place, so, I don't expect great returns.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

What is blogging? And what makes it worthwhile to you, is entirely dependent upon what you believe your time and energy is worthy of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71