@berniesanders Flagging

in #steemit7 years ago

I want to give you my opinion on @berniesanders flagging the Korean articles, first of all I hate flagging as I don't think it works and it creates bad feelings all around, on the other hand I have seen the Korean posts and even though I don't know a single word in Korean I really think they are getting rewarded way above what the post deserves based on the fact that the same people are upvoting them which gives me a lot to think about.

But as I've told you I don't like flagging so why can't we come up with something that will prevent people from being so overwhelmingly rewarded by whales? Like as an example limit the amount a person can give to an article to a certain amount of money, I don't know a reasonable amount like $0.50 per post, this would at least prevent people getting $50.00 on 3 votes from an article that is basically worthless.

Now maybe my idea is not a good idea and there could be hundreds of better ones out there, so why don't all of us start thinking how to fix this problem without having to be in the middle of a flagging war again?

I know it is a hard feeling for a lot of very good writers to be making $5.00 on an excellent post and see a link get $20.00, for example the most I have ever made is $2.50 on 1 post, but hey the way I look at it, it's free money and the votes I get are from people who must have liked what I wrote, except the occasional voting bot (which I don't like too much either). But even I, who know I am not such a good author feel kind of bad when I see an absolutely shitty post make a lot of money because of friends votes. So if anyone has any ideas on this write an article or comment, perhaps something good could come out of it.

Sort:  

I think if there were caps and limits to what people can do with their SteemPower it would deter new investments and the price of Steem may drop. Who is going to buy a few BTC worth of SP and then not be able to enjoy the benefits of having so much of it?

I don't know why bernie is flagging the korean posts, i didn't notice.

I do know Korea has a decent amount of SP in the country according to the app. So they could band together and undo or fight back or buy more Steem.

When one entity has so much SP then another entity needs to rise up. Wanting more power is the reason SP is selling at a great price.

I am not oppose to flagging for pretty much any reason. I know that flagging sometimes gets abused but this place would complete chaos and misery if High Power Flagging didn't shut up some people who were truly hampering this platform progress and happiness.

Your post does get us thinking.

But the reason people invest in cryptocurrency is hoping the price of the coin will go up isn't it? And the smart guys who bought Steem a few months back when it was at 0.13 must have made a nice amount of money with the recent price rise of steem. The rewards here are just an incentive for blogging, if people leave because of flagging that just might make the value of Steem go down. But, again I just put out an idea I also said I didn't know if it was a good one, I am hoping out of so many people who write here, some of whom I am sure are smarter than I or have a better perspective can come up with good ideas.

Maybe a second option to express displeasure with a post. What ever it is the balance of power mechanism has to remain equally balanced. Like ying and yang. If this balance doesnt hold universes implode.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84