2 Years on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

image.png
Photo has nothing to do with the article, it's just a mountain that we couldn't see for quite a while because of the mist, but the rain cleared up the view.

I signed up on Steemit on August 5th 2016 nearly at midnight, so today it is 2 years since I am here. I as well as Steemit have had ups and downs during this time, but I think the two years on Steemit have been a good experience for me.

I signed up because I bought an ebook that said you could make money by just writing about anything on Steemit, I remember it cost $7.00 and I had some money in my Paypal account with no way of getting it out so I was buying things just to get rid of it.

I read the ebook and made my introduction post, this got me about 12 cents which was quite discouraging, about that time @dollarvigilante wrote that he had made over 15 grand with one post, so I just wrote that post and forgot about Steemit.

But I kept seeing good reviews about the platform so I came back and decided to give it another try this time putting in more effort. I knew I wasn't about to get rich here because I know I am not a good writer, but I figured any extra money I could make would be OK.

So 2 years later I can tell you that things went more or less how I though they would, I think even better than I expected. OK, I made a mistake and I took out most of my SP because I needed some money, I have cashed out over $,1,000.00 and I only have a little over 120 SP now, I think I should have been smarter and kept my SP at least at 500. Also my REP is just now at 59, I think I should have worked towards increasing that as well, I should be at least at 65 by now, again my mistake.

But now that I know that, what I do is I have my payout at 50/50 and whatever goes to SP I will leave there for as long as Steem is a viable coin, sure it could tank and I would lose it all, but what is life without risks? Come on, it is practically free money, I'm usually on the internet at least 4-5 hours a day and making a few cents by writing something or posting a photograph is a win win to me.

I guess if I networked more I would have made some big weight friends and could have done way better, but frankly chatting is not for me, all I can think is say Hello and then I've got nothing, so I would just bore someone to death.

But I have written some articles that haven't done so bad, one made me over $30.00 and I've had a few over $20, so I am OK with that.

Let's see if this year I can make it better, for now I will try to reach level 60 by December and try to get as much SP as I can, even though I will still have to cash out some Steem every once in awhile because I always find myself short of some cash.

Anyway summarizing, a lot of people have done way better than I have on Steem, but I at least have remained active and am constantly posting so I do think I do support the platform in the only way I can. I hope Steem and Steemit's future turns out as good as we all hope. it will.

Sort:  

I am glad you hung in there and are back now. You will get back up there. One good thing is that it is never to late.
Thanks for this post.

I have joined Steemit at that time too . I made the same mistake and started to cash out... but after 1000 $ luckily stopped )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83