One Year On Steemit - My Story

in #steemit6 years ago

ONEYEARHEADING_v2.jpg

Exactly one year ago today, I hopped onto my computer and created an account at the suggestion of none other than @nelkeljdm. Following a conversation with him involving photography and cars, he suggested signing up here and sharing my work with the wider world (and outside of my few Facebook friends). It sounded like a great plan, and I could also potentially earn a form of crypto currency, which was still a new world to me. Full of eagerness with a curious mind, I created my account.

And then did nothing with it for around a month. I get like that sometimes…

Fast forward a while, and I made my first #introduceyourself post. It didn’t gain much traction, nor did the next 30 or so of my posts. But I kept going anyway - I mean, I’d already taken the photos and done the vast majority of the work. Writing and posting about it was simple.

One morning, I opened Steemit and saw what I thought was a glitch. One of my posts had a pending payout of over $130. Going from under $0.50 for a post to $130? Yeah, you can sense my bewilderment.

Turns out, the fine folk over at @curie had picked up on the post, and given it a generous up vote. I think I owe that one to @carlgnash, who also gave one of my previous posts a nice vote, and included me in the @curie author showcase for that week. So Carl, if you’re reading this, thank you!

IMG_0850_SMLISH.jpg

With that, I decided to keep pushing, and see what I could do to create interesting content for Steemit. In the past year, I have:

IMG_4754.jpg

And the list goes on.

And on.

And on...etc.

Goals:

Well, I didn’t have much of a goal when it came to writing and posting here, but throughout the course of the year, I eventually decided on two main goals:

1: Work up to a reputation of 60 (I made 58 - close enough)
2: Acquire at least 500 STEEM (currently around 475 STEEM, though I technically did make it as I sent some of it off).

DJI_0057.jpg

But now, what does the future hold?

My year here has been pretty good. I’ve seen a few more people join Steemit, and then give up after a few weeks after not getting any recognition.

Will I keep posting here? Sure, why not. I originally had dreams of Steemit being able to fund my travels, which I can then post back to here, and then raise more for the next set of travelling as a result. However, due to the MASSIVE crash in the crypto market, that is barely an idea anymore. Even withdrawing my entire Steemit account wouldn’t be enough for me to take a flight to a city an hour away.

But hey, maybe it will all recover.

IMG_4758.jpg

With that said, let's hope 2019 has great things in store. I'll still be sticking around here for a while.

Sort:  

Congrats on the milestones buddy! Let's hope 2019 is better for Steem and other crypto so we can all gift ourselves some cool cars.... (I need that NSX)

Thanks man. Will keep a space next to my GTR for you ;)

Welcome to Steem garethb! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Great achievement 😁👍 many people of fallen steem prices become not so active but I believe thats a best time to be noticed and be active.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great work buddy, I am sure 2019 will be just as successful for you -following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68