You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A brief guide to delegating Steem Power

in #steemit7 years ago

this confuses me. I don't get the advantage and there are a lot of steps. ok, so I'm old...at least I'm here :-)

Sort:  

The advantage is a whale could think you're a good curator and donate their SP to you. So instead of generating cents on your vote, it would then be dollars. And of course, you'll earn that much higher curation rewards too. The other benefits wouldn't apply to most of us though.

Why would a whale, or any delegator for that matter, choose to do this? Out of generosity, or is it to have the delegatee serve as a kind of "proxy-curator" to up-vote content that the delegator would have theoretically aligned with and would have also up-voted if they had enough time?

Out of generosity would be a good reason. Though for megawhales like Steemit Inc employees, it'd also be in their best interest to diversify curation. That'll lead to better retention, a better trending page, user growth (assuming marketing is successful) and ultimately a higher price.

Of course, the delegatee is automatically a proxy curator.

Some whales may want to cut a deal where the delegatee/curator sends back a cut of curation rewards as liquid Steem over the long term.

Whales may also delegate SP to their sockpuppets. That said, this would all be visible on the blockchain, and abuse can be fought easily, so the preferred route for that is still powering up sockpuppet accounts individually.

Has this changed? Can I receive curation rewards if I delegate to someone now?

Where do I find whales who are ready to cut deal with curators? I have asked couple users but they are not interested, meh :(

oh ok, that makes sense. thank you! So how does the system separate MY SP from a whale's SP if for instance I wanted to Power down (which I'm not!)? And how long do you get to use it for?

You can't power down the whale's SP, of course. Neither can you delegate it forward. It is indefinite, up to the whale. But they can cancel it any time like I mentioned above. The system only considers the delegated SP as yours when you vote.

The delegated SP is also shown separately in your Steemit.com wallet under brackets. For example, you can see here - https://steemit.com/@curie/transfers . The account's owned SP is 38k SP, while the delegated SP is 333k.

thank you so much for the explanation! It makes things very clear now :-) It's like a 'boost'!

Boost, I like it! Sounds better than delegation :)

It could be called a PB...Power Boost!

Hi, good post!
I am still lost with delegating option.

What's the benefit to doing it? for instance... If I delegate the 10000 SP, what's the profit I take?

the benefit is that agreed by the two parties the delegate and delegate, the advantage is that the delegator always has full control because you can cancel at any time, would you be willing to delegate ?, if so speak with me I am looking for that they delegate me, the deal would be to send you an amount of earnings each week for example, we would have to do some calculation to know how it could benefit each other

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56