Don't want to shake my hand?

in #steemit5 years ago

Have you ever held out your hand to another person to initiate a handshake and not have it responded to in kind? Sometimes it happens by accident however once it happened through ignorance and arrogance and I'll never forget the fact that it happened, or have even the smallest shred of respect for the person. It wasn't a nice feeling, being snubbed and disrespected like that.

Anyway, I stopped extending my Steemit hand to new users a while back, mainly through lack of time but also partly because I felt a little disenchanted with their lack of reply-engagement. I used to spend a short time each day looking for [new] users I liked, commenting and upvoting in a show of support but after an initial comment of thanks or some other such brief reply they would fail to engage with me, proceed to post trash or simply disappear. I stopped wasting my time. Until recently.

Not so long ago I welcomed a new user by commenting on their introduction post, following them and voting at 100% VP. My comment advised that I'll keep an eye on them and throw some votes their way which I have done. The thing is that I have yet to receive a message back from that user. I've had no interaction at all from them and to me that seems somewhat odd. It sort of feels like I'm standing here with my hand extended in the universal gesture of greeting to another person and...Well...Nothing. No handshake. Am I asking too much?

Now, I hear people saying, maybe that user is busy, too busy to engage with me in reply, and I admit that it's crossed my mind, however there's been several subsequent posts and a few comments by that user, just not in reply to me. The person even upvoted my original comment...But no reply? It leaves me somewhat unmotivated and feeling like it's time to move on.

Am I asking too much of a new user? I mean am I setting my expectations too high? I'm not so sure. When I first started on the platform back in 2017 I replied to every comment, some with longer responses and some with a simple "thank you I appreciate that you took the time to read my post" depending on the situation. The point being that I responded. I felt it was in my best interest to do so and to start building a network, a reputation of one who engages. I wonder if this user simply just doesn't understand the benefit of doing so?

I understand that I'm not a powerful user when compared to others. My 100% vote is only worth $0.12 and I only have just over 8,000 Steem Power; Certainly not a large account, although I'm an account that was willing to offer some assistance and I would have thought it would account for something.

So, I'm going to wait it out. I'll give it a week or so and then simply unfollow that user. I'd like to think there'll be some engagement, commenting on my posts, some sign that the user is ready and willing to engage however I think that's probably just setting myself up for failure again.

What are your thoughts? Are new users right to simply sit back and expect the older more established accounts to simply come to them? What were your initial weeks and months on the platform like? Did you jump at the chance to engage with a Dolphin account, commenting with validity as often as possible, joining in the conversation and simply getting amongst it? I did, that's for sure.

So, someone please explain this to me? Is my lowly little offer of assistance lost amongst the initiatives of the larger accounts? You know, the new minnows in a month thing? Is my direct offer of assistance so pathetic and valueless that a new user finds it unworthy of a reply? And this from a user who writes:

"Steemit is a valid project with a clear vision. If each of us will be able to provide his small contribution to grow the network, I think Steem will have a great success..."

I know the platform can be difficult to get one's head around and it sometimes seems the deeper one gets the deeper the whole is...But I rolled out the red carpet for that account and offered a friendly alliance that could have paid some dividends for them...But, no "handshake."

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

image source

Sort:  

I started out on Instagram with The Miniature Smallholding brand and knew then that to build any audience you need to reach people. It's like a business and how many people fail in business? Most don't have the mindset to realise what is needed to market oneself. It's takes more effort than most realise and then they wonder why nothing is happening. I think people come to Steem with the idea that you don't have to market yourself, it's all done for you. Sometimes I donut have an immediate reply to a comment combs to mind and have to think about a response for a bit. Maybe this is when they just upvote and leave it, because they don't see a point in making that extra effort. This is a concept I've been trying to explain to my daughters, but I don't think their interest in Steem is enough to push them to try that much. Maybe that's the same with many. If the monetary reward was high enough they'd probably continue to post (everyone has a price, after all), but if they don't have another reason to be here, then they'll leave soon enough.

I think we also have those from other cultures and English isn't their first language. Sometimes they don't know our social etiquette, so don't know to respond.

I wouldn't have persisted as long as you have. I give it a couple of tries and move on. In fact, sometimes I only give it one try, unless what they're posting is particularly good. I get that some accounts from already established people (YouTubers etc) don't have the time to reply to all comments. If I support their work I'll put them on autovote and try to remember to check in on them occasionally. If they aren't supported then they'll leave and they are what we need to encourage if Steem is to grow. When it comes to unknowns, then I'm sorry, but if you want to build from nothing, you have to put in the effort and communicate. There are some many ready to support those who do.

Perhaps this is a filter to filter out those who aren't really ready to be here just yet. Once things are set up better for the general populous, then maybe these people will find their reasons to be here. Like the viewers on YouTube who enjoy the videos, but have no interest in making them.

You're right of course, on all counts. I think it's a combination of things that make this issue so prevalent. Also, in this social media world people don't tend to communicate so well...A like on FB seems to be the extent of it generally. Actual engagement is anathema to many people.

Oh well, I'll rock on and leave these people to their own devices.

Thanks for commenting. Always get good value from your replies; Measured, logical and thought out. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe we need to learn to speak in text and emoji to communicate. My daughter often tells me off for using punctuation, i.e. full stops, when I message her. Apparently it indicates that you're angry, or something of the sort. No, just indicating that the sentence has ended.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I heard about the punctuation thing...Some Millenial told me; I'm not convinced though and rarely do what Millenial's say. Well, never to be honest. I use punctuation because that's how educated people write. I'm old fashioned in that way I guess. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know what's up with such users, I was always super happy when I had couple regular bigger accounts commenting and giving feedback on my posts and I always replied to them.

I'm always carefully optimistic about a new user. It's bit sad to say that I've stopped to look for new users myself, too, but you can only care and give your own support only so often, when you see all of them quitting.

Luckily there are always those few who appear and manage to stick around – the ones cast in the fire. Not many survive through it, even some very successful people who wrote excellent content with excellent rewards ended up just quitting out of the blue and selling it all. It takes a peculiar character to stick to this when everything is so turbulent. But those who get through and keep writing and engaging through the bears and wolverines and all other beasts out there – you know they are the real deal.

I don't think all those people who receive direct assistance and engagement in the beginning realize how lucky they are.

I know right? I was fortunate that my brother was already on-board and that assisted me greatly but still, I engaged with anyone and everyone I could. It doesn't make sense not to.

I think you're right, new users don't understand the importance, and how lucky they are, that a larger account notices them.

Oh well, I'll stick with the lad for a while and see how it goes...If it doesn't improve then I'll bounce and find someone else to support.

Thanks for commenting, greatly appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm always carefully optimistic about a new user.

Sad to say it's the same here. I'm not encouraging by default. Mainly because I have high standards (which I will admit), but it has happened that I discovered a few new users whose content I enjoyed and told them so, encouraged them to write more and welcomed them with open arms. Some responded, some did not. But they all disappear soon afterwards.

Guess it's that instant gratification thing. If it doesn't pay in the first few days/weeks, they're out.

I don't think all those people who receive direct assistance and engagement in the beginning realize how lucky they are.

I remember when I was new here and I would get those "welcome, great content, follow my account?" comments and I used to be happy cause someone was engaging with me...

What can I say, ungrateful kids! :P

@galenkp don't take it personally. It's not, I'm sure. I mean, IRL not shaking hands, well then, yeah I suppose that is personal. But on Steem, new users are just testing the waters nowadays, they want t see if they can make a quick buck without too much effort. Which is why they don't reply and just disappear soon afterwards.

Don't want to shake my hand?

Well, not particularly, but if you insist... I've always found this shaking of hands to be rather generic. I love how in warmer, Latin countries, people kiss on their cheeks when they're introduced. It seems much more personal.

I don't take it personally really...Just have me something to post and to be honest not following and voting on that user frees me up to do so on others.

Kissing on the cheek works in some circumstances, not all. It's situational I believe. Some Islander cultures rub noses I've heard...Could be a legit way for business men to greet each other. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my, that would be so weird :))) Braid each other's hair during meetings, the works, right?

not following and voting on that user frees me up to do so on others.

Exactly, not a loss on your part, in any case.

braid hair...

You make me smile.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why, thank you :) that is one of the nicest compliments I've ever had :) You make me smile too.

Mutual smiling...And that's how it's done world! ✅

Posted using Partiko Android

When I first started I responded to every comment I received except for the upvote for upvote type comments etc. And I still do that it has allowed me to build a following base of people. Even if there vote is worth 0.001c or less the person is not worth less just because they have small voting power. I would support them with upvote's etc and yes some of these people have left and some have gone on to build there steem and they have much higher voting power now.
I have also seeked out new users and try support them and often get no engagement so I move on to someone else. I would have thought that for a new user on steem to get support from an account with 500+ SP would be very much worth there effort to engage with them.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a conundrum but also very common I think...Lack of engagement from new users. Maybe it's because they are used to the other social medias and their like ethos...That instant gratification thing...Get a like and move on. Winner winner chicken dinner...Well, Steemit isn't like that is it? Maybe it's just their naivety?

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe they have some relearning to go through on steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember this as it was part of my weekly initiative to curate introductions. While it has improved a bit since I started now 27 weeks ago, only 25% of those curated really remain active after their first post or two! I have done 3 reviews of pasts posts and the results are disappointing but have read from @paulag that retention is often even lower on traditional social media as well. I still think, like you, that we should be better off given the opportunity to earn here and the fact that our engagement should motivate new users to continue. However, I have seen users that have gotten more rewards on their inteoduction than I have on a single post (ever) and they still disappear within a post or two! I still have not figured it out but will continue to try! I am actually behind schedule this week! Cheers!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I thought you'd recognise it. I'll await your next curation post and have another crack at it. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I've given up on looking at new accounts, basically for the reasons you have mentioned. I have found it is worth it to wait a little while and if they are of value I will run across them in another month or so.

I don't understand not responding to comments. From day 1, no matter who comments - big accounts, little accounts - doesn't matter, I always respond. I'm grateful. I also treat my blog like a creative writing project though, and not like a business, which is different from almost everyone here.

As far as actual handshakes go, I'm a little shifty on that :) I would never decline to shake someone's hand, but I'm a chronic weak handshake person. I just feel like that old strong handshake stuff applies to men. My body language shows character in other ways. I'm having deja vu. I think we have had this conversation before...

I think the general consensus so far is that looking for new users is something of a fool's errand. As I'm no fool I think I'll stop.

As for the handshake thing...It's common practice in professional environments to do so and so I do it. I'd rather not...I don't know where their hands have been! 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Flu season is rounding up here. I have been avoiding hands whole-heartedly.

Good move...We're heading into it from here...I'm diabetic, getting the flu is never good for me...Maybe I should avoid PEOPLE altogether! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

My brother is a type 1 diabetic, so I know what you mean.

Best of luck with hibernation :)

It's like Adelaide. We roll out the welcome mat, but don't lose any sleep when people fall by the wayside.
Everyone's dancing to their own tune, and dreaming of their own moon.

Yeah, not losing any sleep over it. Gave me something to write about.

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, I get it it's frustrating but here is what I do and I promise you it works!

I spend a lot of my steemit time in the new section, I really enjoy reading posts this way, and I know we have talked about this a little before.

Whenever I read a post that I enjoyed or can relate to I leave a small upvote (5%), and a short comment. I always try to comment on something showing actually read the post and sometimes I will ask a question if I want to.

I have met so many great steemians this way. It's a small investment and it usually pays out big. Some day's I get so many responses to my comments its overwhelming. Sometimes I only get one or two. I will admit lately it seems to be less and less, but I am not spending as much time as normal due to March Madness.

I am pretty sure that is how I met you.

I don't know why any new person would not respond to a comment as I was like you and happy just to get one. Shit, I still am!

I heard somewhere that someone is flagging all the new people's post. Now I haven't seen this, but it would be a tragedy for the blockchain.

And wow! You must be doing something right because as I always say if you're receiving a lot of flack it means you are right over the target!

Helping that one new person really backfired and I would be pissed as hell when I read your post I went and checked out their blog, followed and commented on a post or two. That's how it works around here. I guess people don't know what a good thing is anymore.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I help where I can and I think there's a few out there who have been pleased to receive consistent support from me...Maybe not in the form of delegation but certainly in votes and general engagement which I think is important. (The engagement) It makes a person feel part of something.

Anyway, I like your idea and whilst I'm often short on time I'll make the effort.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.435 which ranks you at #2197 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2205).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 8.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95