Potential Solutions to Reduce Abuse in Steem Ecosystem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I don't do this often, but I'll resteem a few posts from yesterday/today from my feed, of users who are determined to do something or look for solutions to our current overwhelm of abuse of all sorts.

I've seen these past few days both people who look at the issue radically as in "let's go to war", but also some who are looking for alternative solutions, more or less successfully.

It's Saturday, so I'll keep this post brief. I would've preferred to add my usual weekend quote today instead.

personal-943888_640.jpg

There will never be good arguments for war. I've never heard of a civilian being trapped in a war that would want to repeat the experience.

There will also never be good arguments for inaction against abuse of any kind.

Yesterday I had a stronger position, but I'm open to alternatives. As long as something is being done. And not a passive or living-in-a-bubble approach, because unfortunately that's how abuse spreads and grows.

Then what can be done?

Here are some potential solutions ahead to reduce it and possibly prevent it from spreading and growing in influence:

  • convincing more holders of sleeper accounts to re-become active
  • streamlining the sign up process (will be rolled out very soon)
  • offering users who are only interested in the economic aspect of the blockchain a possibility to perform "proof-of-work" instead of "proof-of-brain"?
  • moderated communities (the "Hivemind project" which will introduce communities to steemit is under development)
  • flagging spammers and other abusers

Please feel free to add your own constructive ideas. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60716.58
ETH 3369.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48