My first 100 followers :) Some advice for new members.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

aws.png
I've been on Steemit just over a month now and I've just hit triple digit followers.

At the very start I didn't expect much as its always hard to reach out to lots of people on any social media site never mind one that know one I know is even on it yet but none the less I got a great reception from the Steemit community and gained around 25 - 30 followers from my first post plus $16.32 in rewards.
asssaaa.png

I was quite shocked so the next thing I wanted to do was interact with some people to follow for myself.

I figured the best way would be to look through the thread #introduceyourself where I had just posted for the first time myself.

I quickly found that many people had this idea and were even taking it so far that it had became a scheme to earn quick rewards from just spamming welcome messages at new accounts.

This quickly put me off the idea of interacting with new accounts as I felt that I too was coming across as one of these welcoming bots.

So I decided to focus on posting my own content and hoping that people would interact with me instead, then I could just filter through the obvious spam comments and interact with real people.

I started trying to post things that I was interested in and get involved with the many Steemit challenges that run everyday.

My 2nd, 3rd and 4th posts done pretty terrible in terms of rewards for time spent with only one reward of $0.16 . Slightly dis-heartened I wondered why and after more research into other peoples accounts I found out this is very normal.
aerr.png

So any new members reading this, do not feel bad if your first few posts do terrible in terms of your own expectation. You are still awesome even if you don't make a bunch of money from day one!

Luck definitely plays apart in how your reward.

Why is this?
Simply because the Steemit rewards aren't just as straight forward as 20 upvotes = $x

From what I've gathered the majority of my rewards have mostly came from a very small amount of people .

For example in my 5th and 6th posts my rewards were much higher because of one person rewarding me around $5 from one upvote even tho the amount of upvotes differed a lot.
are.png
All in all quite lucky that this person happened to see my posts and even followed me :) yeah!

A little tip for new accounts.

Make your first post count.
Spend a decent amount of time on it. Introductory post are by far the best way to gain a nice reward and followers from the get go.

To get the most out of this first post I suggest before actually posting it, spend some time commenting on other peoples posts to get upvoted which can increase your reputation and cause your post to be seen by more people.
asa.png
Also potentially gain some followers which again might allow you to be seen by more people if someone resteems your post.
Another idea is enter some giveaways that appear everywhere on Steemit. Try and win some free SBD (Steem Dollars) to promote your first post.

I said before my 5th and 6th posts done a lot better than my 2nd, 3rd and 4th posts but does this really matter at this stage.
Probably not, what does matter is followers and even tho my first six posts got mixed results in terms of rewards I've been gaining followers the whole time just a few more everyday or two very consistently so my next word of advice/experience.

As in all social media platforms consistency is key to success!

Forget quick rewards and focus on gaining followers which in the long run will be more profitable anyway.

Have fun with your posts and put in time to produce your best quality and people will appreciate your posts a lot more.

I've been posting what I want to and even tho I'm still getting varied results I don't mind because I'm enjoying it.

Lastly post things that you are interested in and good people will find you, which at the end of the day is what social media is all about. If you don't enjoy posting don't expect to get rich anytime soon.

Just some thoughts about my first month.

Thanks for reading.

@g4gold

Sort:  

The international steemit Olympic committee gives this post a gold medal.
Thanks so much
I just started on steem two days ago.
This is gonna help a ton!!!

Thanks dude. I gave you an upvote and a follow to help you on your way to greatness.

great advice! thanks

Welcome to this amazing community @g4gold
Great intro, I hope you will enjoy steemit. Wish you to have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well at @pastorlea. Thank you and have a good one

I love advice and encouragement on this article because I am just new to steemit and also looking for ways and solution on how to go through this site and be a successful blogger.
I just follow you, please follow me also.

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60897.42
ETH 3369.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51