This Blog Has Caused Me Concern

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemians

The subject matter of this post could well irrevocably affect my presence on here, I'm fully expecting a mix of reaction to it but as much as I've tried to ignore the subject, I can't get it out of my head so here goes nothing.

My understanding of STEEMIT is a site where its members can share images and information which is designed to inform, entertain and inspire.

I've been very conflicted about a post which is currently 'Trending' where a member has amassed a sizeable amount of money asking for help due to a medical condition. I'm not casting any aspersions on this specific member but I feel compelled to say that a blog which is primarily designed to ask for financial help leaves me feeling uncomfortable here.

We need to remember what STEEMIT is originally for and be mindful of turning it into something else.  

Sort:  

My take on your thoughts is that you will see all sorts of stuff on Steemit that does not agree with you. Get used to it.

You need to consider that there are all kinds of people participating in this platform and the diversity is about as wide scope as it gets because this is a global organization.

You stated that you thought that Steemit was designed to "inform, entertain and inspire". While that may be so, we cannot overlook that it is a source of $$$ and as a result attracts all sorts of people, some with less than honest intentions.

You can post whatever you want on Steemit and the steemians will act accordingly. If a sad story motivates them to part with $$$, that's just the way it is.

I think this is an exceptional situation. I've seen it resteemed many times. I gave one upvote, at least I felt like I made a contribution even though very small. Just hope people don't start taking advantage. It gets hard to tell a scam from the real need.

Indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60514.11
ETH 3335.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48