My Top 5 Tips For Styling Your Steemit Posts

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Ok, I've been using Steem for a few days now and have a few tips on styling your Steem posts for the noobies out there. No reason to learn the hard way … that’s my job ;-)

Styling, or markdown, is the language convention that formats syntax so it can be converted to html. Basically, that means there are a few quirky things you need to learn so your text looks good.

First, you’ll want to be able to hyperlink cool articles, like the one I just linked, which of course is about how Steemit is blowing up.

To hyperlink put brackets, [ and ], around the word or phrase you want to hyperlink. For my link above it looks like this:

Second, you’ll want to be able to BOLD some words so they stick out in your post.

To do so just put ** before and after any word or phrase. The bold I did in the above sentence looks like this:

Third, you’ll probably want to use italics so you can italicize!

This can be done by putting _ before and after the word or phrase you want in italics. My example from above looks like this:

Fourth, you’re going to want to post pictures. People don’t buy Playboy for the articles and likewise on Steemit you’ll want to use pictures to liven up your posts.

To put in a picture all you need to do is copy and paste a direct link of your picture into the text of your post. But how do you get a direct link?

I use TinyPic where you get unlimited storage. A lot of people are also talking about SteemIMG. I checked out the site and you get 20mb of storage. I haven’t used it yet though.

With these sites you just upload your picture and it will give you various codes. In TinyPic I copy and past the ‘Direct Link for Layouts.’

And finally you’ll want to post videos. Thankfully it’s just like posting a picture. Just copy and paste the link.

I like funny videos…

Ok, now have fun steemin’!!!

Ps – all this can be done in the comments too.
Pps – if you got tips please share in the comments section

#steemit #steem #steem-help

Sort:  

Super Helpful, so much to learn. Thanks. I'm following!

Very informative, thanks!

Steem on,
Mike

Are you aware of something to center, like a pic?

That one I don't know...

My image links always come out broken after I post. I have to go back in and edit the html - for some reason, the 'http:' gets stripped. Any ideas how to prevent that?

That's a new one, I don't have an answer.

A big two thumbs up and some cash for ya!

Sweeeeeeet... i like cash.

For the hyperlinks there is no space between the brackets and parentheses.
For the images you need to upload to a site like TinyPic.com or Steemimg.com and copy and paste the direct layout link.

Do you know how to post a profile picture?

Thanks for the useful post.

VERY INFORMATIVE...I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR SUCH SIMPLIFIED WAYS OF DOING THIS...THANKS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43