Isn't It Funny To See So Much Fuzz About Progression On One Of The Most Progressive Social Medias To date?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm talking about the new Steemit logo conversation. It always strikes me to see how people panic when something changes in their everyday life. And this is not to point fingers or start a beef with people who like the old logo. Sure, I've got great memories with that logo as well. But come one, have you seen the progression the UI has gone through the last year? Everything looks hella slick now!

I'd like to take this a bit further and look at it more from a sociological/anthropological perspective. Which leads me to the core question; why is change so scary for lots of people? I notice this with a variety of things in my everyday life. I'll stick with food since that's my primary focus currently.

For example, did you knew that it takes about ten times to familiarise yourself with an entirely new flavor? The first time you're most likely not going to like it. It's a psychological game of emotions that trigger specific thought flows. To experience something with an actual open mind, you've got to be able just to take it in and not act straight away. This methodology is easier said than done. And it's also not the case with everything. Cilantro, for example, is known to taste like soap to 4/14 percent of the population. This is a genetic thing, so not something you can learn or get into, unfortunately.

Oke, try to imagine David Attenborough's voice while reading this:

"As the young mammals encounter their newly designed habitat some seem utterly confused by what has just been presented to them. While a jolly few are plunging into this familiar yet visually challenging surrounding a group of angry tribal members of the pack is looking for answers".

I'm not sure if I'm making much of a point with this. I guess I'm just fascinated by peoples reactions to new things. I like change. It's our diesel engine that pushes forward the machine of progression.

But like I said everybody has their vision and to each his own. I'm going to make a big cup of green tea and scroll through my feed, Night Mode toggled on.

Sort:  

I would say that the new logo also represents a new phase in the steemit saga.
and each has its time, the beta feeling is leaving steemit and its coming into its own and that needs a new logo...
in this case change is really a good thing no matter how some want to hang on to the past

Exactly my thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84