[Future Food] The Herring The Seagull and The Whale Prt1.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Omega 3 is good for you!

New evidence shows that the consumption of herring could potentially be beneficial to a plethora of anti-aging solutions. Although herring only ranks #27 in the Nutrition Database and has strong competitors such as Chia seed, Flaxseed Oil, Radish seeds, Walnuts, and Basil it is still a peculiar non-exotic tradition of the Dutch. Have you seen how we eat these fish over here? Just have a look at how the people with the wooden shoes gulp down this raw oceanic delicacy.

It's Like a Jungle Sometimes, It Makes Me Wonder

The Seagulls like herring because it fits right into their beaks. Their beaks are yellow. I was once told that fisherman in Iceland sometimes catch a seagull, paint it completely blue before they release the bird into the sky again. Once the bird approaches his fellow seagulls they attack him until he is dead. Due to the painting they do not recognise theseagull any more and treat it as an enemy.


This is a herring #squad

Herring can grow up to 45cm and weigh around 1kg. Herring played a pivotal role in the history of marine fisheries in Europe. It is often eaten with raw union, pickles and a plastic fork. Some like to slice the herring while others, not afraid, devour the raw fish by holding it up by it's tail, reaching for the beheaded fish head first in one go.


Smakelijk eten!


This was Part 1 of a small series I'm doing on herring, seagulls, whales and the way they co exist among each other.

In part two I'll talk about a good friend of mine who happens to be a very talent artist who currently lives in Perth, Australia and makes astonishing mural paintings.

Sort:  

Oh yes! In Prt.2 I'll go more into the interconnectedness between a Herring Squad and the Whale.

Don't like to eat Fish. People who eat raw salty herring make it look so tastefull though. Tried it, but I just could not get it down my throat. Almost envy those who can and Love it.

hahaha, Oh yes I totally understand were your coming from. It is a weird almost primitive thing to get into. But he, it took me over 3 years to get into dry white wine

Then I prefer Dry white wine anytime! :-)

love fish , but dont think i could eat it raw. Herring is good bbq

The raw eating part is something you have to get into. I remember as a kid I couldn't eat it either. And even today it depends on my mood and the place you buy it. It has to be day fresh.

I never had it BBQ though!