Power-Down No More

in #steemit7 years ago

out2.gif

Today I am canceling my power down, and re-powering up my liquid STEEM.

Furthermore, I am making a public pledge to:

  • Keep STEEM block rewards from by my witness powered up
  • burn or decline blog posting rewards

But why?

Getting into a prestigious club of top 19 witnesses is hard. It takes a lot of time and dedicated effort. It takes initiative to start new projects, and discipline to keep at it and deliver.

I fear that once in, complacency might kick in. I might get lazy.

This is why I am rigging the game for myself - by abstaining from short term profits,
I am forced to not only keep my game up, but to improve it. To think of new ways to help the community and the platform succeed.

This pledge is my tool for aligning my interests with long-term success of STEEM.

Instant vs Delayed Gratification

What is worth more - a guaranteed couple thousand dollars today, or a potential for millions in the future?

Taking Risks

I am very grateful to be in a position where my income covers my basic living expenses. This enables me to take this risk without fear.

Sort:  

i like this!

If you like it, you also can stop powering down ;)

Im not a witness :)

but you are a proxy ;)

"This is why I am rigging the game for myself - by abstaining from short term profits, I am forced to not only keep my game up, but to improve it."

Brilliant! Keep up the great work

Rock on. It's all about timescale and we need more long-term thinkers.

Rational conclusions! Glad to have you :)

Good for you @furion! I didn't power down because I have only 5500 so I'm still buying and powering up! Little by little, how much I can afford! Cheers!

Hats off!

Taking risks is the key to an exciting life

It is not so big risk and eventually the only think important on steemit will be reputation. We all gonna be rich anyway.

That is brilliant and a wise decision @furion - Steem on! I hope more will follow this!

Keep the spirit @furion , and this is very useful, can make people think so persistent in the establishment, continue to progress in steemit, life steemit, i love steemit, help me also in developing and survive in steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97