Agnes Final Chapter

in #steemit2 years ago

____________ Final Part


After a couple of hours, i regained consciousness again, but this time in excruciating pain. I felt partially dead as my body was contorted to fit into what resembled a shallow grave. I attempted making my way out but could barely move a limb, the towering grasses concealed my being totally. I began to weep.

At this point i only wished for death. That at least would perpetually relieve me of this suffering and pain. I remained at the spot for a couple hours more, hoping the heavens would grant my wish, hoping Mr death would just show up and with a fatal blow put an ultimate end to this unending dilemma.

Slowly but surely, life began to leave me again. I felt my breath waning fast as it seemed my grandest wish was beginning to materialize. When I was finally out of breath, I saw myself in a strange place, standing at a crossroad. Standing next to me on this crossroad was my late father. His face shone like the sun, and he put an arm across my shoulder.

He took some time to comfort, encourage and admonish me. After his speech, he gestured that I return via the path I had come, while himself take the opposite direction, but then I refused. I pled with him to let me follow him to wherever he went but he wouldn't let me. He did everything verbally to compel me do his bidding but i wouldn't heed his words. Suddenly, he pulled out a koboko whip from nowhere and stroke me with the whip. The lash was so deep and painful that I had to raced back through the direction I had come. I raced back to life.

The pain and scar from the whip accompanied me back to reality as I began to sob again, this time profusely. Suddenly, I felt two arms reach for me through the thick bushes and pulled me out, up to his shoulder. I didn't know who it was, neither was I opportuned to see his face, but I had a feeling it was the enemy. I had this eerie feeling it was the cell's warder.

Still bearing me on his shoulder, he began to make his way through a pathway in the forest. As he advanced, I saw most of the lifeless bodies of the girls whom i had joined in the escape. He continued on his way till we approached a thatched home deep in the heart of the forest. He led me in and laid me on a bamboo bed inside. I thought of a worse possible scenerio, perhaps he might rape me and strangle me to death afterwards, or resort to torture and gladly watch me die slowly. Either way i was done for.

To my utmost dismay, none of my fears came through. In fact he wasn't the cell's warder as I had earlier assumed, he was a local hunter that was only exhibiting empathy. He took his time to dress my wounds, clean me up and provide me with the little food he could afford. When I was much stronger, he began by introducing himself and how he was able to find me.

He told me he was a hunter who lost his home and family in a fire incident some years back. His loss has led to a number of suicide attempts before he finally decided to abandon the city and live alone in the forest. He told me sporadic gunshots had attracted him to the scene where he found me, but instead he was met with corpses of young girls scattered about the forest. He had sought for survivors amongst the girlss but found none, and was set to return to his abode when he heard sobs. He had traced my voice down to the ditch where I had fell.

I also took time to recount my bitter ordeal in the hands of Aunty Monika and he couldn't help but shed tears in the process. He also swore to protect me and ensure i get justice as soon as possible. I remained with him for a couple weeks more until my wounds were able to heal. Upon my little recovery, we both stormed the town and was able to locate a Human Right Organization. They gave us audience and provided us with accomodation during the duration of our stay.

My story was made into a documentary and it soon began to garner widespread acceptance and recognition across the country and even overseas. Several Human right bodies showed interest and support and a GoFundMe account was opened in my favor. The Human Rights Organizations both local and foreign also took it upon themselves to fight my course. After series of unsuccessful attempts, they were finally able to tracked down and prosecute Aunty Monika. It was a fierce legal battle but we won in the end, thanks to a couple of witnesses to back my claim.

Despite several calls from prominent Politicians and public figures to bury the case, Aunty Monika was at last charged to court and found guilty of 40-count charges that bordered across drug and human trafficking, drug abuse, child abuse and molestation and of course murder. Aunty Monika was finally slammed with a death sentence.

In a space of three months, my story fetched me both fame and wealth. The GoFundMe account at the end of the trial racked in millions of dollars. Top movie producers also contacted me to buy my story and subsequently turn it into a movie, an offer I couldn't refuse. I returned to the village with the hunter after the whole saga and a big ceremony was held in my honor.

My life had been an inspiration ever since that unforgettable event and I was able to travel abroad to complete my studies. As for Mama, she later found love in the arms of the hunter and they tied the knot a couple of weeks later. Something i never saw coming, but it was indeed a priceless moment, something i would live to cherish for the rest of my days. I later made arrangements to fly them over to live with me in the abroad.

My life indeed is a testimony, and i will forever remain indebted to the Almighty.

The End.

✍️ Ogbuagu Emmanuel Nsimba
FB_IMG_1659812706190.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51