AGNES

in #steemit2 years ago

When Aunty Monika came visiting all the way from Abuja, Mama and i couldn't contain our excitement. We weren't expecting her neither did we see it coming, especially considering the calibre of her person. Mama, despite our poverty-stricken state literally went out of her way to ensure Aunty Monika was comfortable, and as well given the best treat possible.

Aunty Monika was a no ordinary personality. She was the only influential female figure in our town and one of the few in the state at large who had contributed immensely in both human and capital development. She lived in Abuja, had a good number of businesses to her name and had been pivotal in the many successes of young girls whom she was porported to have lifted from grass to grace. Aunty Monika was indeed a household name, so now you understand why her visit was grand and meant so much to us.

Aunty Monika didn't touch the meal Mama served her but instead had a sip of the soft drink also presented to her. She looked uncomfortable in our dilapidated abode but didn't waste time in divulging her reason for the visit. It was mainly to take me along with her to Abuja.

Mama, upon hearing this was reduced to her knees in sheer appreciation, clinging tightly to Aunty Monika's shoes. I joined her too. We knew the implication of this gesture, it was a one-way ticket from penury to plenty. It was for our own good and we embraced it with open arms. Our being appreciative was an emphatic "Yes" to her offer, and she told me to get ready, as we are to hit Abuja by tomorrow.

Upon her departure, i began preparation in earnest. I also informed a few of my friends of my trip and they couldn't believe their ears. They congratulated and wished me well, and also made me promise i will come visit them from time to time. Mama too did all within her power to get me few good clothes, shoes and underwears. She also gave me her entire meagre savings to hold unto and tasked me to remain obedient and hard-working to Aunty Monika over there. I also promised to return in a few years time and change our condition for good.

The following day was a friday, and Aunty Monika came to pick me up in one of her exotic cars. It was my first time entering one, and i relished the opportunity to the last. When we got to the border that demarcated our village from another, i was asked to alight and join a waiting bus. This bus was also provided by Aunty Aunty Monika and was almost filled up with girls of my age. I believed they were also picked up from their respective families amidst promises of a good life.

Our journey was long and tiring, but we were able to finally touch down Abuja by nightfall. We all alighted the bus, tired and hungry, and were finally lodged in a hotel where a large room with numerous bed spaces were made available for us. We each had a bed for ourselves. Shortly after, we were served supper and then we retired to bed. The next three days was weird as we only ate and slept. We also took time to formalize and make friends amongst ourselves. We further shared our life's aspirations as well as what we hoped to achieve here in Abuja within the shortest possible time. We were a sum total of twenty-two girls, all under the age of sixteen.

On the fourth day of our stay, Aunty Monika came to see us. She also took us on a shopping spree were she bought us nice clothes and shoes, took us to the salon to make our hair and also get spa treatment. That night, she told us we are to meet some of her business associates the following day, and ultimately tasked us to be obedient and respectful to them, as they were the key to our world of riches and fame. We were all excited and couldn't wait for the crack of dawn.

Morning came too soon and we got set to meet our destiny helpers. We all got into the nice dresses Aunty Monika bought for us and wore the best of perfumes too. We joined the bus that conveyed us to Abuja and set out again to one of Aunty Monika's shop. We got there in time and we were ushered in. The place was gigantic and luxurious, had one of the best state of the art facilities we had ever seen. Aunty Monika led the way up to the last floor where we approached an inner chamber that had a VIP inscription on the door. We got in and beheld a couple of men comfortably sitting on couches facing a huge TV screen. They had expensive wines before them and were entertained by soft electronic music from a huge woofer.

The lights in the interior was dim but somehow we could spot their faces. They looked elderly but wealthy. Aunty Monika approached them first and did a short introduction of us before we were then shared amongst them. I was paired with an Alhaji who was old enough to be my grandpa.

Aunty Monika soon exited the room and the lights went off. What ensured was unexpected. The men began to caress us and soon began forcing themselves on us. I pled with the Alhaji but his grip on me was firm. He was reaching for my undies when i struggled my way free. He then began to apologise. Now the music had increased, quelling our voices and plea.

One after the other, the men began to exit the room with the girls assigned to them. The Alhaji too led me out all the way to the car park where his car was waiting. He asked me to join him but i was reluctant, i finally had to comply when i sighted the angry face of Aunty Monika in a distance. I got in and we soon sped off. We got all the way to the Alhaji's home and upon my entrance, he swiftly shut the door behind me.

He began to undress and urged me to do likewise. When I proved stubborn, he resorted to go physical but that too wasn't enough to deter me, I stood my ground. He reached for a small knife from his wardrobe and threatened to kill me if I don't let him have me. He was now unclad. He held my throat in a choking grip and tossed me to his bed, pounced on me and attempted to force his way on me. I had to plead with him but he wouldn't let go, so I put up a fight instead. In my resistance struggle, i got hold of the knife lying somewhere on the bed and drove the sharp edge into his abdomen. He froze for a moment before letting out a short yell. Got off me with his hands covering the deep cut. Blood gushed out profusely, spluttering on the bed and also smearing on me.

I crawled off the bed, trembling and scared, weeping aloud. I made for the door and tried forcing it open all to no avail. I turned and watched him fight for his life as he tried to stop the bleeding. Seeing he could barely make it, he picked the knife and charged for me, launching an arm to stab me but I was quick to get out of his way. He missed and came crashing on the ground. He had lost so much blood and strength were gone. His death was only a matter of time.

I reached for his clothes and ransacked the pockets, and was lucky to find a bunch of keys. I tried them on the lock and finally got a match. I left the room and also the house. Found my way outside and raced helplessly on the lonely road. I was still walking to nowhere in particular when a hand grabbed me from behind and i immediately lost consciousness.

I woke up hours later, chained to a wall in a dark, damp room. The place was littered with both human and material waste and had this deep nauseating funk of rotting flesh. I wasn't the only one there, a couple of other girls too were faced with same fate. They looked famished, battered and malnourished. One of the girls told me the room was Aunty Monika's cell. She also told me girls were thrown in here for being either stubborn, rebellious or had attempted to flee without her consent. She further informed me that she had been here for months with no hope of ever tasting freedom. She said they are fed once daily and sometimes they go days or weeks without food. She went on to recount that a good number of promising young girls had been here but never made it out alive.

I began to weep, and soon resorted to prayers, but it seems the heavens were far from my cry. My fate has already been decided, and if ever there would be a miracle, which is very much unlikely, it wouldn't come without a cost... and even if I managed to offset the cost, the scars will remain indelible. Never to be removed.

✍️ Ogbuagu Emmanuel Nsimba
FB_IMG_1659812706190.jpg

Sort:  

This is a one-time notice from SCHOOL OF MINNOWS, a free value added service on steem.
Getting started on steem can be super hard on these social platforms 😪 but luckily there is some communities that help support the little guy 😊, you might like school of minnows, we join forces with lots of other small accounts to help each other grow!
Finally a good curation trail that helps its users achieve rapid growth, its fun on a bun! check it out. https://plu.sh/altlan/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41