Is buying upvotes really worth it based on personal opinion? (Keep it simple article by a minnow)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

money.png

As a minnow of 23 days, I have been testing and investigating steemit platform and the available resources. This post is just to share some of my personal opinions and thoughts so you should still do your own research.

I guess part of the reason for my fast growth as well as followers is due to my simple posts about what I experienced and learnt in a nutshell without unnecessary lengthy words. Straight to the point! Remember that I don't have high steem power like some whales to attract huge followers. Most of my followers enjoy my simple posts to help them to grow.

In previous post, I was analysing and calculating the possibility of authors getting 100% of author’s reward without the need to spilt for curation when upvotes were done after 30 minutes. It seems after testing the system, we would only still getting 75% author’s reward as long as there is an upvote even after 30 min since I tried getting the upvote and still got to spilt the earning percentage for curation part.

Upvote calculation.png

With this mind using the table shown above, you can get a total of $18.75 by buying upvote from steemlike if it still have the same profit percentage for the author’s reward where you will get an estimated $9.375 SBD and 1.425 in steem power (Depending of steem price).

Noise.jpg

If you are planning on accumulating your steem power, I believe it is more worth it to purchase directly using SBD rather than buying upvotes based on my current estimated calculation. You can disagree as there could be different opinion.

Got it.png

Then why are people buying upvotes?

You should only buy upvotes when you have a post and you want readers to notice it so that they will upvote your post. This is not a guarantee depending on your popularity and how good is your article. It is still one way of getting notice and the chance of getting more followers is high.

follow.png

As a minnow, will I continue to buy upvotes?

Yes and no. I will only buy it when I have a good post that I am confident that others will like it and will upvote it so that more readers can notice my post. If I just keep buying upvotes, I will be losing money in the long run. As minnows, we should consider it carefully. Weigh your profit and losses as well as what is your ultimate aim.

Set your objective right and even if you lose SBD but you can foresee gain in long run, you can just go for it as an investment for better foundation for your account.

I am organising simple contests regularly now by giving away free SBD. Do I really gain in SBD by doing so? Not really as not much upvotes but I do get increase in followers.

When you have a giving heart, you may gain more than losing in future. Think long term rather than short term.

Disclaimer: This is just my personal experience so you need to do your own research too. I am not responsible for any losses as I am not a financial advisor.

Upvote and resteem if you like this post from a minnow to another minnow by sharing personal learning!

Sort:  

I wrote this post at the office so by the time I post this, I am 24 day in steemit. Just a little correction to be technically correct!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

if I pay the bot, I get my sbd back and still get sp?

After 7 days of your post, you will get authors reward which is 75% of the total you received. 25% goes to those who upvoted for you! The author reward will then be split 50/50 based on your option at the time of post. 50% will be SBD while the other 50% for SP but pls note that the amount of SP will need to be divided by current steem price. Let say you are supposed to get 5 SBD while the other 5 for SP will be divided by current seem rate which will be less than 1SP if steem price is still more than $6.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47