What is steemit ??

in #steemit7 years ago

steem.png

I have been on steemit for a few days now and am still trying to figure the whole thing out. In a sense it appears to be a complex Ponzi scheme similar to other iterations of the same concept in the past. However, in the same breath it does ooze potential for greater applications than its predecessors. It is obvious that the content that is being posted on here has little to no value considering the fact that it is not being monetized by outside sources. I have seen very little to no presence of advertising, affiliate marketing or other conventional forms of e-marketing on here. With that being said, the only value that is being created on here is from people buying and sharing their steem, nothing else. The more influence you buy, the more money you are able to recapture from the people who are just buying in. Maybe I am confused here and if I am I will readily admit it. But if the entire purpose of the steemit business model is to compensate the people at the top of the pyramid with the people who are just getting in, what is the purpose of harvesting all this data and information that is being generated from the blog posts?

mid.gif

Sort:  

Wise thoughts, but there are still reasons why we are here...

Lol thanks . Maybe one day i too will be elightened

Just read more, read read read. Like me...doing that hours and hours , over 1 month. It takes time to fully understand this phenomenal project.

Follow me

Oh I plan to give it some time. Rome wasnt built in a day. I just found my way here when I started investing in crypto coin


this
Possibly the reason you don't understand Steemit monetizing is that it's cut out ALL of the middlemen.

it's doing exactly the same thing that the national economic system is...in micro....

it'll take a while for that to sink in. Keep researching. It's totally against everything you have been taught by the goverment schools and the lamestream press.

oh...if you have any steem you don't need...send it to me.
I'll be happy to take it off your hands so you don't have to be concerne.

I guess it doesnt help being an accoutant. This is counter to everytying ive been taught

yup..it is.
I have a bachelors and a masters in Business.
I feel your pain.

What a waste of money. I truely learnt very little.

I have the same. A masters in finance and a under graduate in accounting. Plus a CPA designation. At this point in life. I rather push a broom

I'd rather pound a keyboard floating on a boat in the river or a lake while pretending to fish.

regarding the 'how' and the 'why'
don't worry about it.
just enjoy the 'what'.

have fun...make a little money while you do.

Hey, I hear ya - the more time I spend on steemit the more questions I have and the more tiny leaks I find. In my opinion, steemit has a ways to go with balancing out the community. Right now the whales have an extreme amount of influence over the platform which in one sense is fair, because they have invested so heavily. In another sense, pay-to-play can seem unfair to many of the newcomers.

I actually wrote an article yesterday about the average account value for the first page of the Trending/Hot categories. Check it out if you want to see some interesting $ numbers.

Cheers!

Thanks for the help. I need all the advice I can get

Steemit is the way to go, facebook will fail.

I am thinking it may be more of a replacement of youtube. Many youtubers are getting pissed off with the recent charges to the way they monetize and I can see a few making the transition.

I agree, the demonitization / censorship of content on YouTube as well as other social platforms will be the downfall of them. Steemit technically doesn't have that problem, as long as they don't get into the censorship game...

that's what i thought too... but hey, im still here after several months

Thanks now i am a lot wiser from this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44