#28 What I Found Out Trying Steembay for a Week

in #steemit7 years ago

DQmdd8mSWUrS6VoAZdd9DLPnjBGh82fogdAxEwB9s97tbyM.png

I was happy to find out you can sell items right here on Steemit. I'm an ebay powerseller looking for a new marketplace to sell on and a way to earn crypto doing so. Fiat currency is a scheme that is failing fast and I have no interest holding anymore. I swore to myself in 2018 I will have low to no use for the central banking system. Steembay is simple to use, but has a few things that need to be added. I'm naming what I think is great as well.


CUSTOMERS
The items I posted are typically sought after and purchased fast on ebay. A grand total of 2 people were interested enough to bid here. Neither bid enough for what it was valued or to ship it. Now I haven't studied what kind of items are sold on here, but I'm willing to state the community population isn't up there to have multiple people interested in the items I sell. Again other people may most items that get hundreds or thousands of bids, but I haven't looked into them yet. As the user base keeps growing, more people looking for different items should be encouraged to buy from this marketplace. Lastly, the community seems to be filled with reasonable people which is a good sign.

LACK OF PRIVACY
Everything done on Steemit is for the community to see, even the amount of Steemit coins you have. I don't mind that and I don't even bother with checking members balances. The problem is being able to send precious information like names and addresses that anyone can take advantage of. A private message feature is necessary in these situations. The good in this is if a lowlife decides to run off with your coins the proof is there for all to see to excommunicate that fool from the community.

FAITH
Folks across the globe seem to be complaining about declining morality of people. This stage can act as an instrument to build trust into your fellow man. You don't want to trust everyone, but when doing business both individuals should get what is requested.

STEEMIT COINS
Having items purchased in crypto creates distance from the centralized banks which is a beautiful thing. Unlike most fiat, cryptos appreciate in value which puts the people first not just the issuers of the currency. I don't know when or if the usps ups and etc. will take crypto at all, but since sellers are paid upfront, we can switch some over to fiat to be able to purchase the shipping label.

CLOSING
At first I thought Steemit was just an alternative to Twitter, but it is much greater than I expected. It takes all the best parts of that, youtube, facebook, etc. This is much more of an independent, decentralized news site that's a social media site that's a marketplace. I am so happy I found this place and am excited to continue to contribute here.

Sort:  

One way to exchange personal information is to use Steemit.chat for information you wish to remain private.

The bid I made was 3 sbd. that is $36.33 right now.

I don't know why I thought sbd is $2 per, I will honor your bid then. On coinmarketcap sbd is 6.99 this is confusing man.

There is a lot of stuff to take in. Bittrex is the best price for SBD to bitcoin I can find right now. give me an email at [email protected] and I will send you my shipping address. Thanks

I emailed you from a protonmail email

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59