Yep, why upvote anyone when it costs nothing

in #steemit7 years ago

After joining Steemit a couple of weeks ago I started reading up on all of the details of how to navigate the site. There is alot to learn. I'm not a typical blogger. Some might even say I'm new. I'm new to the idea of blogging, resteeming, upvoting, following....and the aspect of making money for it. I have greatly enjoyed learning all about cryptocurrency, bitcoin, steem. I like that everyone enjoys sharing and building up each other. I like that upvoting helps to steer the content of the site.

Here's the thing I've noticed. I've read over and over that upvoting does not cost you anything. To move the mouse and click upvote..costs you nothing. I read on the site that steem power helps to influence content and shaping out the site. The issue that I've found is the idea of excitement. There is a great amount of excitement when you see that your post has been upvoted. It makes you want to write more. It makes you want to do better. It makes you want to find better content and push harder. The issue is....no one seems to upvote. I try to upvote every comment and reply. I think it encourages people to participate. I know that if my comments are being appreciated it makes me want to share more. I think that comments seem to actually shape the site more than content. This is just something that I've noticed. I would love to hear what you think.

Sort:  

There is no ‘cost,’ no. But your voting power does decrease temporarily. So there is a ‘limit.’

Thank you. It makes sense. Even if we have nothing left to give its very encouraging to see the votes.

This is a good post! Yes, there really is a lot to learn.

Don’t be impatient with the upvoting. I think the direction the value of Steem goes, affects the energy of the Steemians.

Also a recent cyber attack on the cite has a lot of upvotes being chewed. Even some of the whales are acknowledging that the glitches are affecting their bottom line.

Genuine up-voting is a good thing.

Steem Now is a good page to use for seeing the power of your up-vote. Just put your user name in place of @penguinpablo to get started.

I think sometimes people enjoy the work and forget to say thank you with an upvote. Don’t get discouraged.

Enjoy what you do, and know the merit will come with perseverance.

A good advice one of the key players, @lexiconical comes to mind, recommends not being shy about asking people to upvote and comment and resteem your work.

This may not be easy to do if you’re shy; but, helpful for growing your page, and gaining upvotes.

Peace.

Hey, thank you! This is some great information. I like learning how everything works together. Im trying to be patient 😁trying to author my own adventure, and engage others on their blogs.

Yes, @freedompoint, patience is a well-rewarded virtue with Steemit.

Keep blogging regarding your concerns, and the community will reach out to help.

Clicking on the Google (Steemit) search engine at the top of the main page, with your topic in question, will bring up very helpful archived posts which add clarity. Be sure to follow these Steemians to have access to their most current work tor reference.

Steem On @freedompoint!

Peace.

Thank you for sewing into my experience!

Thanks for your work as well! Followed @freedompoint I'm starting to read it now. I wish you continued success. I will continue to follow you. Take care of yourself, my dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52