You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you feel about Steem drying up as everyone powers up?

in #steemit7 years ago

Great post. I can see what you are going for. There is the idea that certain people are gaining incredible power, but they didn't take it they were given it. I mean that we vote. When we vote it gives them steem, and is followed by the opportunity to power up. At some point we are going to have to trust that we didn't waste our votes and the ones with the power ultimately want the good for the blockchain, deligating and involvement. Right? 🙃

Sort:  

How they attained the power isn't totally irrelevant to the conversation, of course I feel better if they "earned" it through some contribution. But regardless of HOW, the question I would like to raise is "Is it really ok for anyone to have THAT much power?" You have to think, they're power is only going to grow EXPONENTIALLY as time goes by, which will create a wider and wider gap between whales and regular people. So while they may be good people, deserving of some reward, they will essentially become kings and queens of steemit for being the first to create quality content or investing in the platform, or perhaps even something less valuable to the platform. If 10 people were to end up with 99% of the wealth how would you feel about it?

I believe there is a lot of good here. I don't bring this up to scare people from the platform or argue or complain. I bring it up because I believe there are minds here who could come up with great solutions and some with power who would be willing to listen.

Oh yeah! I don't view it as scary or alarming. It is a good post with a great point. What would I think if 10 people had 99%...well noy to be too cheeky, but I live in america and that is pretty much how it is 🙃. I can see what you mean. Do you think there is a way to change the course before it happens? Or is it already in motion?

It’s already in motion, but it seems there are enough people trying to spread the rewards so that it won’t happen as fast as it could. At least we have that.

I can't wait to see how it goes. I know each day I get up and jump in. No matter what, Life is good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70