Sort:  

Actually, this is all available in the welcome and FAQ in the Steemit menu. The landing page after you log in has some too. Whose fault is it if no-one reads this stuff? That's where I got all the information when I joined

I just saw it.... looks a little like finding trees in a forest to me.

I'm not looking to lay blame on anyone.
Just wanting to make it easier for new users, and therefore grow steem which helps all IMHO.

Have you seen the stats re how many sign up & then a month later leave?
To me that says those that find the FAQ and manage to read it are the minority. Maybe there is a better way / approach is all I'm saying.

It's more likely that they leave within a month because they don't make the money they were hoping for.

Agreed. That accounts for some, but that implies the steem concept was 'oversold & under delivered" ?
Which then leads to maybe they didn't know the processes & how steem differs to other platforms?
which leads me back to my 1st point re 'on boarding' needing some improvement.

But you may be correct re only people who are expecting an annual income from day 2 are signing up. And that is definitely possible, but that means steem need to change/modify the marketing msg IMHO otherwise it's a downwards slope, is it not?

Nowhere does Steemit inc. promise people that they will become independently wealthy. You may also notice that Steemit is in beta, meaning that it is a work in progress.
Personally, I doubt that anyone would read the welcome emails either, if they can't be bothered to poke around the site and figure it out before jumping in with their assumptions about how it all works.

Agreed on all points.
And maybe that is what I see as the challenge. To get steem to grow, the base needs to grow. When they arrive & leave, that is missed growth opportunity for the platform. I'm just suggesting one way that might be avoided. For the sake of the platform, not any individual.
If steem is to "take on" the FB's of the world and become a global platform & grow from 500K->5m>50m then some basics need to be considered IMHO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63