Dear Steemit: User Search Engine

in #steemit6 years ago

Dear Steemit,

I personally believe that the Steemit community would benefit from an ability to run a search for a specific user. It personally took me about a month to actually start using Steemit and it was only because I was unable to find the users I normally followed on YouTube. I should also add that my activity here was jump started by my interest in blogging. I've just followed my first Steemer after having this account for nearly a month. My first attempt was to click on the magnifying glass to search which led me to a search engine that was powered by Google -__-

Steem It Search.png

I was only able to locate him by going to his YouTube page, clicking on one of his videos, expanding his description, looking for the word "Steemit", highlighting his address, pasting it into the browser, and then following him. The endeavour reminded me of what it was like to use the internet in the 90's.

TheOutterLight You Tube.png

I apologize if this post comes off condescending or offensive. I too am a developer and I understand how difficult and time consuming it is to build even the simplest website functions. I'm simply bringing attention to something I believe would help our community connect more easily and believe that this functionality would be most beneficial to your expansion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42