[Frank Bacon] - Why Cannabis?

in #steemit8 years ago

Imgur
Story provided with permission by my LinkedIn Network.

Imgur
I never wanted to be a "Stoner."

I never wanted to be thought of as an addled, lazy, unproductive "member" of society. I was TOO GOOD to be associated with an activity that got people thrown in jail, relieved of their money and property, and made fun of by "Decent" people. "Stoners" were bad, and somehow, they were responsible for so many woes that to even talk to one meant courting bad luck. Then midnight 1999 came along, and I succumbed to the mystery by taking my first "Toke" from an authentic looking peace pipe offered by one of the kindest souls I ever met. Y2K was on a lot of people's mind, including mine, and the end of the world scenarios somehow seemed more realistic than the possibility of Federal incarceration for the most innocuous acts of smoking a dried herb. I suppose it's cliche to admit that after that "Toke," everything changed... sort of.

Two things went through my mind the rest of the evening after being introduced to the infamous "High" brought about by smoking a "Bowl" of what my initiator described as "Ontario KGB" (Kind Green Bud); she was from Canada and brought it with her for a work related event. The very first idea that got stuck in my head was WHY does everyone make such a big deal out of this? The second, HOW in the F$%K is this an illicit act? Then I fell asleep, and probably had one of the best night sleeps in a long time. The next day came, the world's computers were not crashing. There was no mass panic in the streets or breakdowns in society. There was also no immediate consequence to my "Illicit substance abuse" from the night before. I felt fine. Life went on...

Imgur

Get a life.

For the next decade I only partook of the "Herb" a few more times, three or four to be exact. Always in the company of other "Stoners" but never to excess and never as a direct treatment for what ailed me. They were quintessentially "Recreational" experiences. But I did put away my self imposed stigmas towards other users, the "Stoners" if you will. I found the act of consuming Cannabis to be rather passive and peaceful. Unlike the many nights spent in sports bars under the influence of liquor, I never saw a bad "Recreational" binge. I never broke up a cannabis infused brawl or saw violence of any kind like the sorts of things that were commonplace inside the Legal and Lawful taverns and pubs I frequented for 20 years. To me, cannabis seemed very SAFE, in comparison to my direct witnessing of nearly every other imaginable form of "Drug Use." It was the Casper Milquetoast of all the Drugs I was familiar with.

I wandered the world for ten years Suffering. Suffering from what some have called Bi-Polar Manic Depression. I changed jobs and partners often. I spent money and time looking for treatment. I was miserable. But I always had an assortment of options from 12 packs to Cigarettes; from Lexapro to Straterra, from therapists to week long bouts of suicidal tendencies. I did everything else but return to the one thing that I had never known to harm anyone. I was getting a Life, and I didn't want the "Reefer" to interfere with that, so I continued the struggle.

By 2010, after a nervous breakdown, bankruptcy and intervention, none of which I was new to, I had decided that to "get a life" I had to enroll in a technical college. The only thing I "Smoked" in school was cigarettes and the tests, by graduating with two degrees and Honors. But my obnoxious attitude towards "Stoners" had returned by then when many of my fellow students failed to get placement jobs due to failing the Drug Screening. I saw this as justice in my own sick way. I say sick because I was also aware by this time in 2012, that there was an 800 pound gorilla in the room with me. I was in my late thirties and could sense that something was seriously wrong with me. Not wrong from the depression, but wrong in away that terrified me to look deeper. You know, the kind of feeling that suggests that if you go to a doctor, you'd probably hear about something very bad. So I avoided the doctors altogether. Better to be caught by surprise by whatever was going wrong than to eliminate all doubt and find out you're dying.

Imgur

The Cult of Ignorance.

In 2013 I was living the dream. I had landed work as a research scientist in a privately funded lad which I had helped get started and financing for. I was solving mysteries without any clue, working on the night moves; props to Bob Segar. I was delving into awesomely astounding science and research that should have satisfied every fiber of my being, but alas, I was still suffering and it was worse than ever. Appropriately, I was also relaxing my intolerance to "Stoners" once again. Half of the dozen or so fellow scientists were regular users of cannabis, and if it somehow made them dumber, it didn't show up easily to spot. Through my time working closely with my cannabist coworkers I literally digested a PhD's worth of information on the subject of cannabis. I also became intimately aware of something so vile, so corrupting, it made the terror of my health issue take a back seat for once. It was clear to me by this time in my life, that everything I had come to believe about cannabis, about prohibition and about the so called "Illicit Use" of a "Controlled Substance," was an egregious GOD DAMNED LIE!

Isaac Asimov is well quoted regarding a "Cult of Ignorance" in this country. It's fitting to bring Isaac's quote up here because I was myself a glorified writer of Scientific Fiction during my day job at the lab. I spent a great deal of time reading and writing about projects or processes that we could work on and predicted or hypothesized on the results. It was scientific fiction until it wasn't. It was great work and I miss it terribly, but my Fate alarm was ringing from an ignored health issue which meant that I had to clear the "Cult of Ignorance" from my own head if I were going to escape my gloom. Cannabis taught me how to do this, to my own, obnoxious dismay.

A close friend, co-worker, fellow scientist and "Stoner" had become my roommate near the office. Regular cannabis use became the norm for me as I discovered I could use it not "Recreationally" so much as "Therapeutically." My whole lifestyle changed at this point as my bouts with alcohol dropped significantly, as did my cigarette use. I was not using any form of pharmaceutical and came to a conclusion that they never helped me in the first place. I was finding that regular to semi regular cannabis use was making things in general, better. Much, MUCH better in fact. But at the same time, independent research into prohibition and the lack of science to support a drug war was making me very uneasy. If the solution to MY issues was this simple plant, and it had been banned for 80+ years, then what if someone who really needed it couldn't get access to it? What would it mean for a Trillion dollar health sector if there were much better options available? What if, and THIS is the real kicker, every cliche conspiracy story I had heard from "Stoners" about prohibition, was in fact true?

Oh, my, gawd... The "Stoners" were right all along! IT REALLY IS MEDICINE!

Imgur

Hold still, this might hurt a bit.

November 2012, amendment 64 had passed in Colorado, leading the way to an experiment in State's rights and decriminalized cannabis use. I was a closeted "Stoner" by 2013 and in another year, we were going to see the nations's first Legal and Lawful dispensary open for business and sell to their first adult customer. This was all so historic. As 2014 was closing in, everything in my life began a sure and steady decent into madness one again. Cannabis had opened me up to some interesting possibilities I had never considered before such as Yoga and alternative healers. Between these options, the buried health issue that I had avoided for so long began to creep, ever so slightly into my life once again.

I had a revealing moment in 2013 that was so similar to a movie I saw in the 90's that it's unsettling to me. The similarities are exacting in almost every detail except one important difference, the order of events. The movie was called Jacob's Ladder, and is only relevant because in one scene, the protagonist is having his back adjusted by a chiropractor who is quoting Meister Eckhart. In my situation, instead of seeing a practitioner to correct my back, I went in to see a Healer who BROKE ME instead. I'll save the details as they are too much to bring up again. In short, the movie depicts the protagonist in Hellish pain, and his chiropractor setting him straight; in my story I went to a Healer feeling straight, and was sent to Hell...

Instead of seeing a Chiropractor, I went to a well respected and wonderful Kundalini Practitioner. I had been studying the arcane art of Kundalini and worked at an introductory level in Yoga and Pranayama. I was flipping the bird, so to speak, to the universe when I compelled this practitioner to really "Open me up!" I told her that Hell would be a better option than what I was going through. I wanted a severe change, I told her, and I was willing to pay the price... or so I thought. What happened that day forever changed me in ways I would NEVER wish upon another human being...

Cannabis is Chronic.

"My Big Brother used to describe to his friends how I was one "Lab
Accident" away from becoming some sort of Mad Super Villain. Well,
that "accident" happened to me somewhere back in January of 2014; a
radical experiment of Fusion Energy research and Kundalini Science
took place... Mistakes would be made..."

This quote is lifted directly from my profile summary and is very much NOT an exaggeration. For anyone unfamiliar with either Kundalini or Fusion, I will not go into details here. For me, they are one and the same on many levels, but for the sake of this story, what is important to convey, is that I F$%Ked up and in a big way. I was undergoing a process that I could only describe at that point in my life as walking a thousand miles in Hell. The lousy part is, it took more than 2000 miles. My intelligence was a handicap at this stage and I was a slow learner now.

Since January of 2014, I became a Cannabis Proponent for two reasons. One, it was legal; in my State at least. Two, I now had the equivalent of Biblical level, CHRONIC and unrelenting pain as a constant, everyday companion. I had left my job, alienated my friends, upset my family and was walking the streets as a full fledged, stereotypical, raving lunatic. It was actually pretty neat. It was Psychosis, but it was neat. Who else but a few explorers and neurologists would get to witness their brain dying from the inside out? I never thought I would, but this is exactly what it was like dealing with "Something" that would have gotten me locked away had I taken my condition to a professional for a diagnosis. At least, this is what the voices inside my head were telling me at this point.

Cannabis, at least in my informed opinion, became the safest and most effective way to "self-medicate" for a problem I didn't know how to describe. In fact, at one point in late 2014, I had an internal sound, a SNAP if you will, happen to me accompanied by my passing out into a puddle of my own piss and sweat. I woke hours later only to crawl to a couch where I stayed for three days. Had I not had cannabis on hand, I likely would have found a way to slit the femoral artery and bleed out for mercy. Yes, it was that bad, and there were several such instances over the years that witnesses can attest to. My pain and my health issues were very much real and very uncommon. Cannabis provided what can only be describe as Remedy. The Stoners were still right all along... It really is Medicine.

Imgur

I'm getting better, and I'm not asking for permission.

This article is not an instructional, nor an information piece stating science data and filled with charts. It is also not an opinion editorial. I do not write for a specific audience in order to sway or come off as an expert. This article is Catharsis; it's an expose on one of life's truest of truisms. Life is Pain.

Prior to my exposure to cannabis and even after using it for some years, I never quite understood myself. I had some knowledge, but no real understanding of things to the degree that I felt satisfied. Happiness was a fantasy. Pain became a teacher. An incredible teacher. Pain was actually what I was seeking, or perhaps Pain was seeking me. Either way, I found it and it had stories and lessons to teach, whether I wanted to hear it or not. Throughout this journey, I came to rely on a simple plant to provide the necessary balance between the lessons and the madness that came from it.

Imgur

Cannabis is without a doubt an incredibly safe and effective treatment for many things. The stigma that surrounds it is based on a CULT. A Cult of Ignorance. A Cult of Stupidity. A Cult of SHAME. And since this is catharsis, let me be FRANK in what I wish to say to close out this story. Now that Colorado is coming up on three successful years in legal Cannabis activity, and in the shadow of this election cycle, there is more than enough "evidence" for a change of course. There is a storm approaching; a storm so big that it will rewrite history on the face of this planet. A WRONG is being corrected. A wrong so evil that it's changed my very DNA.

I'm not in Pain anymore, at least not to the level I once had, and I'm getting better. If I have learned anything from this experience it's that Pain is mandatory, but the suffering...

The Suffering is optional. Thank you Cannabis!

Sort:  

The only thing I "Smoked" in school was cigarettes and the tests, by graduating with two degrees and Honors.

😂

0.gif

That's quite a story Frank and even through you say it is from the Quixotic Malcotent (great blog btw :), I read it as your story and believe it to be so based on other stuff you have shared about your life. Besides, can't find the text elsewhere on www nor an entry in QM search for 'cannabis' that matches this.

I can see that you 'never wanted to be a stoner' lol. I think I did, although until I was 18 I tried to 'conform' and only started to 'rebel' pretty late. I also wasn't subjected to the same intensity of anti-weed propaganda in India and when it came into my life (at the age of n-n-n-19) I took to it like a fish to water.

I've seen Jacob's Ladder and remember it well, including the 'angel' chiropractor scene. It was a movie that had quite an effect on me when I saw it in the mid-90s - the switching back and forth between realities, the dramatic ending.

"Pain is mandatory, but the suffering is optional"

Wise words of realisation!

Love your non-crypto writing style bro

Very nice of you to come in about this. The story was written for LinkedIn in 2016 at a time where I was "Experimenting" with social networking for Busy-Ness. It went away when I dumped that particular account at the beginning of 2017 to go all in on SteemIt for an entirely not so different "Experiment."

To be fair, I love Cannabis now and have deprogrammed from the Cult of Ignorance which says you can cage an adult for possessing flowers... it's essentially what the laws say. I have also indoctrinated nearly everyone around me into at least ingesting CBD on a regular basis. The existence of an endo-cannabinoid system is all the evidence I need to know the Drug War and the Scheduling SCAM is an effort to kill people slowly while parasitically living off the suffering. I wish I had really listened to more Stoners growing up but I will endeavor to continue the Great Work of Stoners now that I've come back from the dead a few times, thanks to this shrub.

Given another year or two there will be a simple way for you to "Tour" Colorado on Steem and see what we're reversing from the old world and building in the new. In the meantime, I really enjoy how well this Blockchain works for Authors who are into KNEW ways of engaging. As you probably know I started here 3 years ago with NO CLUE and NO Content. What I've built here in that time is important to me but is incredibly nice to know it catches other's attention too. Especially yours.

Kind Regards Bruv!
I appreciate your attention, Always!

Screen Shot 2019-04-06 at 9.15.22 AM.png

It's wonderful to come across an expression of You ie so 'directly' lol. Of course this is present in the background when you speak on shows etc - I aspire to that particular quality of free-flowing clarity with which you verbalise your thoughts and are able to maintain focus with, bending like the bamboo in the face of high winds and verbal storms :). Coming across you in that episode with ASE and EricW triggered a new phase of my blockchain experience as I see it...apart from anything it revived the idea of 'fiction' as a great medium (the most factual perhaps!) of expression.......and the rabbitholes are mindblowing at times. There's a lot I don't 'get', but the fact is that I have seen a wide range of your expression and nothing has made me raise my eyebrows in a 'wtf' reaction (such as I started having with FTG and expressed 😩)....I see consistency, integrity and principles (which are by and large aligned very much with my own) in your self-expression and the topics you write about, the posts you resteem. The range of your communication styles/registers, according to context, is a display of skill and not an act, not really a LARP (in spite of the costume, the stage, the role :).....and the subtlety of it all!!

I'm glad to have an opportunity to express this to you directly. I am always honoured by your attention too, brother, I know you hear me at many levels 🙏.

I've had thoughts of Colorado on the back of the coming Steemboom too lol, I look forward to such a time in the near future 🤗.

cannarado.jpg

I am always honoured by your attention too, brother,

Screen Shot 2019-04-07 at 5.49.12 PM.png

🙏😎👍🥓

Posted using Partiko Android

"First time ever I saw the Scots in their natural habitat and it weren't pretty".... "A 16 year-old mother-of-three vomiting in an open sewer"

......lol. They say 'Glasgow's miles better/smiles better :) and they ask 'What's the best thing to come out of Edinburgh?'...and they answer, "The Road to Glasgow".......

Ha ha, and the irony is:
image.png

.....so I went elsewhere to check it out and found what I think has to be the match :), love it!

In spite of reputation Glasgow is a down-to-earth friendly ruffian, and Edinburgh is an impossibly beautiful snob!

sizzling.jpg

I also like pointing out that it's important to find humor in things. ✌💝

I really enjoy your work here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Frank, would you consider going into more detail about the specifics of the underlying condition that caused the pain? and also;

"For anyone unfamiliar with either Kundalini or Fusion, I will not go into details here. For me, they are one and the same on many levels, but for the sake of this story, what is important to convey, is that I F$%Ked up and in a big way. I was undergoing a process that I could only describe at that point in my life as walking a thousand miles in Hell."

I don't have the slightest idea what transpired here but if you ever feel like putting that shit down in words I would love to read it.

The post was provided by The Quixotic Malcontent (a LinkedIn Contact,) but here are some links to consider, that were suggested.

Episode 11: The dark side of kundalini

As for the Fusion aspect, it was suggest to look into the work of Dan Winter, which is like reading Alien Hieroglyphics IMHO.
http://www.fractalfield.com/fractalspacetime/

The video link is fascinating, I will make watching the other episodes a priority thanks. I found the Dan Winter stuff largely incomprehensible to be honest I think largely to the total chaos of the sites layout so I'll keep at it and maybe the layout will begin to make sense.

I appreciate you sharing your journey Frank, it may be very personal and perhaps you're not willing to to share that now but would you be willing to recount as you experienced it? The methodology, and process. Are you in a place now where you can put into words the experience of the awakening and aftermath? I understand with some traumatic experience it's just too big and complicated and painful to really capture, but sometimes the process of writing it down allows one to assume some control over the experience... Personally I am fascinated by the transformation and exploration of inner space.

Thank you for your support and input @titanus, It is REALLY appreciated.

You are most welcome Frank, your contributions here and elsewhere as well as the other writing you have directed me to has been of great benefit in my own journey. It's not an exaggeration to say that it has changed my life for the better, so thank YOU.
Peace.

Why do cannabis...when you can be an active Meth head who trolls Steemit. Yep...this is Frank Bacon and Steemit allows him to be an abusive troll. Steemit does not allow you to block abusive male trolls.

https://steemit.com/robert/@queentut/queen-tut-is-carla-howell

Bacon BAD2.jpg

Don't be sooooo upset Suzy Q that you go around on other's Steemposts and start your unique blend of harassment. I'm sure the people at SteemIt would love to get involved in this and the Lawsuit that was started on your's and your partner @csthetruth's behalf. The CEO is @ned and his chief technology something or other is @sneak. They are not fans of mine but I have Introduced them to RDS who is on this platform as well.

@steemit, This is Susan Ludkze from Colorado.
She is a Street Performer who is soon to be living in State Facilities due to her fragile mental health and additional issues. She is currently involved in a Psychological Operation with the account holder of @csthetruth for Defamation and Harassment of one @robertdsteele;

Robert David Steele Files Amended Complaint Against Jason Goodman, Patricia Negron, and Susan Lutzke aka “Queen Tut”

Unlike your posts @queentut, my posts actually get read by people in my Following.

You're getting famous by the day with my own special group "active Meth head" Trolls. You'll appreciate the publicity because it's going to be Hysterical right up to the point that several of US are Livestreaming your Arrest and Settlement in a State Nuthouse. WE are sending you away Queen... Especially NOW since you came onto one of my favorite posts and Shat on it.

Poor form idiot... poor form.

Bacon Pretty Frank.GIF

My... This comment has aged well.

And the Queen is going down...
https://trackingmeroz.files.wordpress.com/2019/02/rds-v-goodman-doc-71.pdf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67