Comment Rewards - A Shortcut To Success - and how dare I ask about this?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

sockpuppet fraenk

I am sure many of you have seen it.

There's users on steemit who have a very supportive crowd following them around and upvoting their content. So far that's great, I guess.

It gets a bit confusing though when it becomes obvious that these votes are automated and the beneficiary seems to (ab)use this, making more earnings with a single mildly related comment, than most red-fish would hope for after a week of posting.

Don't get me wrong, I am not complaining.

Really, I accept that such tactics exist. In the given eco-system on steem, one might even say it is designed for such types of revenue streams. But is it really? Is that what is intended to happen? And won't this hurt the platform in general as it takes focus away from building original and quality content and genuine interactions?

It does raise questions to say the least. And one of these questions might be: "If it is legitimate to use such trick, how do they work"

This wasn't supposed to be a post of its own...

but then this happened

So where do you take such concerns and questions? SteemSpeak on discord is a great place do discuss steem stuff they say. Yeah! Why not? Let's ask some steemians in the chat. Maybe they have an educated opinion about these issues or maybe they will even give you a hint on how to get into these voting-trails?!

Well... It was an awkward disussion i'd say:

names changed and unrelated messages removed from the protcol

@fraenk - Today at 5:22 PM
hello world...
i am wondering about something very general in terms of steemetiquette...
I have seen a bunch of accounts who post comments like crazy, every single one of their comments receiving the same upvotes every time... clearly some voting trail is following them rewarding any gibberish they post everytime.... is that considered OK? and if so... how do i get in on it :wink:

@XXXXX - Today at 5:25 PM
Fraenk in real life: I see people selling drugs and making money. Is it OK? How do I sell drugs?

@fraenk - Today at 5:25 PM
hahahaha

@YYYYY - Today at 5:26 PM
@fraenk you should focus on buuilding your brand and your network

@fraenk - Today at 5:27 PM
hehe... guys... that wasn't my core question here... of course we should focus on quality content and building an audience and such...

@ZZZZZ - Today at 5:27 PM
I agree with YYYYY
Fraenk it's basically like opting in they have agreed to upvote their content because if they were around they would have anyways

@YYYYY - Today at 5:28 PM
well, that was your question..you just didnt know how to ask it

@fraenk - Today at 5:28 PM
but if you see someone posting rubbish comments every minute and earning a dollar everytime it really makes you wonder doesn't it...
So... my question is... how is this considered in terms of etiquette on steem!
i don't find it ethical myself... and it certainly doesnt help the platform as such...

@YYYYY - Today at 5:29 PM
everyone is FREE to do what they wish with THEIR influence...
dont like it...BUY more influence
we dont give out participation trophies here...everyone earns their way
❤1

@fraenk - Today at 5:30 PM
and if you're so quick to tell me I shouldn't consider such things... why are you not thinking about if this is generally acceptable and how this should be dealt with

@YYYYY - Today at 5:31 PM
put in your work...focus on you.
thats all the adise i have for you today...welcome to steemspeak!

@fraenk - Today at 5:31 PM
hmm... anyways... maybe i came to the wrong place to discuss such observations

@YYYYY - Today at 5:31 PM
i think you just dont like the answers you are given

@fraenk - Today at 5:32 PM
no... the answers are fine... i wasn't looking for self improvement tips though... as I initially stated:
"i am wondering about something very general in terms of steemetiquette..."
its obvious that a lot of people are using such tricks as a shortcut to rewards!

@YYYYY - Today at 5:32 PM
sure...make great posts..network with others...and build your brand..best advice for the day(edited)

@fraenk - Today at 5:33 PM
sigh yeah I got that!

@XYXYX - Today at 5:33 PM
@fraenk What is stopping you from getting your rewards?(edited)

@ZYZYZ - Today at 5:33 PM
perhaps the two of you have gotten off on the wrong foot. It seems that fraenk may not know that he is indirectly calling a project instructor has been putting blood sweat and tears into unethical(edited)

@fraenk - Today at 5:34 PM
nothing is stopping me... and i am happily building my audience with my own content and without any such "tricks"... that's all fine (y)

@XYXYX - Today at 5:34 PM
@fraenk but you enjoy bitching about others it seems..are you jealous?

@fraenk - Today at 5:35 PM
@ZYZYZ i definitely don't know that... no!
am i bitching about others?!
i was wondering about it and posted it as a question here

@XYXYX - Today at 5:35 PM
@fraenk you come across as a sockpuppet troll account
@fraenk nobody is going to give shit what you say..cause noone likes a sockpuppet troll

@YYYYY - Today at 5:36 PM
i didnt take it has him talking about me...i was just replying in general

@fraenk - Today at 5:36 PM
actually I really just came here to discuss my observation... but it seems i REALLY came to the wrong place...
and i am sorry if i offended anybody...
i was just inquiring

@XYXYX - Today at 5:37 PM
@fraenk Yeah..perhaps you should find another channel to bitch in

@fraenk - Today at 5:37 PM
@XYXYX point taken mate... no hard feelings, i guess it's better if I leave this discussion
👋2

I don't know... at the end I was no smarter than before. Aside from learning that I am a bitching sockpuppet?!

It made me feel pretty bad to have participated in this discussion. And it still leaves me with these major questions:

How is this type of voting automation to be considered?

Is this good for the platform or bad. Is it ethical or not. how does it make YOU feel?

How exactly does it work?

Do they actually pay to get in or is it just cliques on steemit working together as a vote-for-vote team?

I'd love to hear your opinions and insights on this.

I hope I am not bicthing again...

...even though I do feel like ranting after that brief discussion on discord

* sockpuppet image source


follow @fraenk

...it's free

Sort:  

It was designed to help build a community atmosphere with Steemians actively engaging with one another rather than simply reading people's posts and moving on. While there are downsides to everything. I have truly enjoyed meeting and engaging with people from all over the world. It has reminded me of the basic decency of mankind as everyone I have interacted with has been seeming a very nice person.

It was designed to help build a community atmosphere with Steemians...

are you referring to the SteemSpeak discord channel? I by no means want to discredit the community there, and it was only a handful of steemians that I've interacted with, its probably usually a lovely place... I am more confused with why the topic itself (or my way of asking about it?) did spark such a strong reaction.

Sorry, I initially didn't read the body of the interactions. Sorry you have had some bad experiences. Luckily I have only had one very mild one.

yeah... it won't make me lose my faith in humanity... hehe!

I'll pop by the discord again once this has blown over, I'm sure it's usually a nice place from all I've heard!

It is. Unfortunaely, there are some not-so-nice people in the world. But, fortunely, the vast majority are kind and good. Stay on board, you will see very soon how great the vast majority in here are. If you think about it, early adopters are usually pretty well informed and bright people. Everyone here now are early adopters. Usually that group of people are gracious folks.

Cool! Thanks for keeping the spirits up!

You will have a great time here. I promise.

Hi @fraenk...ive thought the same thing since I joined Steemit. I just didnt ask why or reach out to anyone about it. You have a valid concern and tbh you asked in a polite and non-offensive way. The way that discussion was handle by those other steemians is ridiculous and downright wrong. You couldnt have been more pleasant and they couldnt bee more rude. Anyhow, if you ever do figure out the answer let me know :)

thanks for backing me up here! feels good!

If I ever do find out what's going on... I'll certainly post about it :) heh

Hey fraenk, sounds like you were chatting to someone tied to the auto bot voting system thingy, and perhaps caught them at a bad time. Either that or just a rather short tempered steemian!

'...it's basically like opting in they have agreed to upvote their content because if they were around they would have anyways.'

This sounds fair enough. We'll just have to put double time in to catch up!

hehe... yeah, I hear you! #minnowsunite !

What's happened to red fish? Think I'm still one of those!

i think minnows and red-fish swim together ;)

Sounds good to me. You're either chomping on turds off the side of the tank or enjoying a 7 course at the Ritz, food served by rather efficient robots of course 😜

Congratulations @fraenk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49