HELP - HOW DO YOU COPE WITH A LACK OF STRUCTURE?

in #steemit6 years ago

GOOD AFTERNOON STEEMIT,

Just a quick morning update as I’ve got some real life errands to run (yuck)... and here’s the thing. I sort of need some advice.

Writing on Steemit full time has been great this last month, but not having any set work hours can also be a double edged sword when it comes to maximising productivity.

I still have the same real life errands, jobs and relationships to tend to, but without set times for work such as the classic 9-5 I was working, it is so easy to lose track of where I’m at.

Structure is such an important thing in my life and this morning especially, I’m just feeling that I’m not coping with the free lifestyle that I’ve ascertained for myself, like I should be.

There are so many great freelancers and full time authors, bloggers and analysts here that I’d love to pick the brains of.

How do you cop with a lack of structure in your professional life, while still producing quality work and maintaining relationships that matter to you?

I need some help...

Please leave a comment below and get in touch if you feel that you have something to share on the topic.




I originally intended to quickly smash out a Bitcoin technical analysis update and had the following chart ready to go, so thought I’d include it at the bottom here anyway.

BTC/USD 4 Hourly

0A3BE5DF-7305-4C6B-A178-FA14A93FD08D.png

It’s just an intraday coiling pattern on the Bitcoin 4 hourly. Any of these little up and down moves within the triangle are irrelevant.

As I said in my weekend Bitcoin technical analysis, price is still capped by that blue resistance zone which is making things tough for bulls.

But could a breakout of this triangle to the upside provide the momentum that is needed to get price back on track in the direction of the longer term bullish trend?

Help!

Peace ✌🏻.




Please leave a comment with your ideas or just share a chart.

Blogging about markets is all about sharing ideas and making us see all possible angles. I look forward to having you follow along and reading what you throw at me.

Twitter: @forexbrokr
Instagram: @forexbrokr
Website: www.forexbrokr.com

Sort:  

I think it's important to set goals (daily content, brainstorm content ideas, and plan ahead) and then quantify if you're meeting those goals. Any type of freelance blogging work or any freelance work at all for that matter is solely dependant on the creator. It's all about the WORK. The more you put in the more you get out, I believe, is a false equation. However, all you can control is the work, and the more you put in the more you are likely to succeed and accomplish your goals. Best of luck with the work/life balance and keep up the TA :)

I couldn’t agree with this comment more. Having real, attainable goals set for yourself is important - especially if you desire balance.

Something I find helpful for forward planning is to have a cheap diary or calendar where I can plan all of my content for the day/week/month/quarter/year. You can even use google calendar for this if you prefer to keep your planning online.

Set your goals, decide what you need to do to reach those goals, then break each step down into smaller tasks until you have an easy to do list that you can achieve.

I find that when working for myself routine and rituals are always important.

I hope this has helped.

Thanks Miss Vee, I appreciate the advice.

Yep, I’m going to sort out my phone calendar and properly use it as a diary. I need to have a list of attainable tasks to complete and then have some set times to complete them in.

Time to get serious!

Hey mate, thank you for taking the time to help me out.

I am going to clearly quantify my goals. I need to take being my own boss a lot more seriously if this is going to work because as you say, it’s all about the work, and if I’m not driven to meet set goals, then the quality just isn’t going to be there.

I’ve given you a follow and I’ll see you around.

I can so relate to this!
First, figure out your most productive hours to dedicate solely to your work. For example, I know I'm most in my focused flow first thing in the morning until about 2 o'clock (cell-phone away, work time only), and for about an hour or two I do creative planning at night to project for the following day. Secondly, write down your goals !!!

Third, and possibly most importantly, take scheduled breaks to avoid burnout. Some neck rolls and simple stretching to get back into your body and away from a screen for just 5 minutes every hour or two can do wonders!

Lastly, if you feel you are wasting time and unfocused, simply step away and do something more productive with your time. Sometimes we try to push through and it creates a cycle of writers block and frustration. Freshness and a state of calm will always be the most valuable setting for creativity to flow!
Thanks for the post, got me reflecting on my own structure/lack thereof. Giving you a follow friend :) Blessings

Hey Helene,

With each comment here, it seems I'm just lacking a written set of goals. That plan for each day and set of goals should essentially act as pressure from my boss. This has to happen for me to progress.

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to offer some advice :) It's definitely appreciated!

It's great to see you making a living from Steemit.com.

Go to a cafe every morning and have a coffee! Write up stuff while you're there!👌

Thanks mate, I appreciate the kind words. I’ve put a lot of time, effort and money into my @forexbrokr brand, so I’m proud that im able to reap some rewards.

I do try to get out of the house to stay motivated, but it’s still tough without having that added pressure of someone on me to get things done.

am glad you have balanced your life and more so you are successful on steemit

I haven’t found the right balance yet. But I’m getting there.

Thanks for the support.

I started today and I'm trying to find a balance here too, I hope you find yours, with few hours that I'm here I realized that daily content and being active in the community contributes to a broad growth.
Because I'm young, I do not understand much, but time will tell!

Your text was very useful, thank you @forexbrokr!

Welcome to Steemit.

Stick with the platform and keep providing quality, unique content. You’ll find your way soon enough. 🙂

Hello @forexbrokr , am few days old on steemit and loving it more. i love CANDLE STICKS and am working hard to get a full grasp of the JCP, so i will just follow to get more updates and possibly brainstorm on market trends, see you around bro!

Cheers rocky. Best of luck on your own trading journey and I'll see you around.

I need the luck bro, but much more needed is the trading skill set and am working hard on acquiring that. good to know i have a great mind like you i can rely on when there is a pressing challenge and i wont take that lightly sir! thanks for the wish bro.

I have a detailed to - do list and set daily goals.

Until I find the right Dominatrix, I sometimes ask a a bossy friend of two to give me a verbal lashing by X day to be held accountable for doing tasks X and Y.

Its often not necessary for me to manage myself in that way though.

Until I find the right Dominatrix, I sometimes ask a a bossy friend of two to give me a verbal lashing by X day to be held accountable for doing tasks X and Y.

Haha, yikes!

...actually... this might be just what I need!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55