I've Used SteemIt For Over a Week - My Biggest Concern Is Who Owns The Content

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We make our living by creating content, taking pictures and videos of the places we visit. I love the idea of Steemit and the possibilities of an extra way to make an income. Everything you see on our steemit account is media we've created, we got permission to use commercially or is under the understanding of fair use (short gifs used in memes).

copyright.jpg

I understand the moment I've uploaded my content to the blockchain it comes part of it and after a week I can't delete it anymore I loose control over that content BUT as for images and videos I only publish things I've posted somewhere else before as a proof that I'm actually the copyright holder of that content (besides I also hold the raw and high res versions of the original files)

Is that enough? Should I add within the articles that my images and videos are copyrighted? I hope you understand my concerns since this is how I make my living.

Any thoughts and answers? I would love to hear from @steemit, @ned and @dan addressing this concern. I know I'm not the only one.

Interesting further reading: https://steemit.com/security/@personz/who-owns-a-post-intellectual-property-data-ownership-and-content-licensing-on-steemit thanks to @personz

Sort:  

Hey @for91days, I am in a similiar boat. I have some original writings, artworks and pictures that I want to put on Steemit. For example, I wrote a book on running in Korea, and want to transalte it and share each chapter on Steemit, and later combine them into an ebook or a physical book. But I want to make sure that what I put on this platform belongs to me, with regards to legal terms.

I like your idea of posting anything origianl first on your original website or other blogs, just so that you have some legal records/backing.

It'd be great if @steemit team give out some clear answers to this.

Thanks!

I came now to terms with it. First I post on a site where I have control over and then post it here. Because things on the Blockchain doesn't belong to anyone. And as long as you can proof you're the copyright holder you're the copyright holder and nobody can take this away from you. Looking forward to your postings here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12