APPICS = Instagram + Steem

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

appicstb.jpg
Anyone else excited with @APPICS? Are you thinking it's the next Instagram? If so, then maybe you should join the ICO.

I do believe that Steemit is like Reddit. Where users take pride on their content as much as any full time blogger. And, those users will be joining Steemit in the near future. They should, rewards are so much better.

Steemit cons

I love Steemit, but what I don't like is that not anyone can use it or it's not their cup of tea. Blogging is work, if anyone has ever made it, they will always tell you that they have put their heart and soul and lots of time into it. It's not all drinking sex on the beach while watching the sun go down.

It is not easy. As my mother told me this afternoon, whom I was trying to convince to join Steemit. I was teaching her how to blog and insert images. She told me that it's hard work. Complaining how she has to check her wordings, grammar, spelling, let alone where to look for images and she hated it.

This is what goes on in my mind about Steemit being widely adopted, it will take a bit of time, more than you think. it's just not so user friendly to others who are not internet savvy. The new generation might find it easy, but how about those who aren't millenials? For example, my mother.

Then again, although it maybe easy for internet savvy people, what if they don't like to blog or write intricate essays to get some upvotes? Steemit is not for everyone. Steemit will be big, but, in a lot longer time. In 10 years I hope, when I retire.

I know there are people here that just post photos of what they ate or what they saw or just write WTF and they get $100. And that is fine, they have been around for a lot longer and/or are friends with big accounts. In this sense, it's like Facebook, where your rich friends likes your status updates, difference is, you get paid for it. Easy.

Some Steemers can write 1000 words and only get pennies. Editing photos for hours are not recognized because of how low quality the images look, compression and all. They can provide their website, but not much will click away from Steemit. Video vloggers who spend hours in their editing cave, still has to write an essay about their video.

Many Steemers shun photography and videos because the lack of understanding of what editing involves. Thus making these content creators go another extra mile of writing a good description or reduce the quality of their work.

I have edited videos and photos and I can tell you it takes as long as writing a 1000 words essay. Albeit editing can be an autonomous process, one still needs the eye and the creativity to make a good picture.

What if we can just take a photo or video of our day and share it on Steemit without writing a thousand words to be regarded as good content?



Maybe Appics is the answer.

Appics now

I think Appics will be big sooner. Their statement in the whitepaper got me really excited.

"1. Usability In order to create a token-based economy and make cryptocurrency mainstream, all complexity and technical intricacy must be covered up and the interactive interface must be presented to the user in its most simplified form. Using the application has to feel natural, and easy to understand without prior crypto-knowledge."

If Appics can deliver, sharing photos or contents in a very simplified manner, it will be bigger than it's competitors. Looking at the images in their website, their app's UI is much like INSTAGRAM.
APPICS.jpg
image source

There are two things I'm excited about with Appics. First is the UI, second is the option to have your own store. Not only can you make money from upvotes but also sell your merchandise.

You can also press the donation button if you feel like the user deserves it. This is like Patreon, where people give content creators money for their work.

There is a minimal fee of 0.001 cents for direct transfer from user to user. That is little to pay for continued betterment of the platform.

I am not sure if this will work hand in hand with Steem or it may even destroy it. But seeing @ned as one of the advisers, then maybe Steem will benefit. Who knows, I will leave that for the more tech savvy people to answer.

I am expecting big things with this project and are the firsts that have inquired about the pre-ICO. Which I will be excitedly keeping an eye on.

What do you guys think? Agree? Disagree? Let's speculate, debate, comment below.

Sort:  

I think appics will be the next big thing. I feel like 'why am I not one of the founders '. Your post is very informative, considering post the link on my contest.

Cool man.. thanks for reading and post away...

This should be good for steem if it will go through SMT ... we need steem to buy tokens specially in ICO and hopefully only steem needed to be able to buy in ICO on any SMT (not bitcoin, eth, litecoin, etc... only steem)

You are right with steemit.com I have mentioned it to workmate and friends here who are all internet and computer savvy but they did not like the idea of blogging and they will definitely hate it more if they actually went in and saw how much work you have to put in just to edit or make a post.

A lot of people who are in steemit already are complaining about the reward system and they say only whales upvote whales. And that will be the same with APPICS but what you said is correct

In this sense, it's like Facebook, where your rich friends likes your status updates, difference is, you get paid for it. Easy.

You gotta find that rich friend haha... but hey it don't need to be rich friend .. since it will be like facebook / instagram most of your friends will be in it so if their "likes or votes" are only worth a penny but will be a lot of them that's rich.

Keeping an eye on it... they might start ICO once @ned brings out SMT officially for use.

Give me a nudge when you see the APPICS ICO started 👍 😎

Yup, very exciting times eheh.. sign up for the pre ico..

This looks excellent, its something that I hope steemit would incorporate to tackle the Insta crowd. I might have to join up on this site, it is something I could actively contribute a tonne load more to

Yeh! I think it will attract more users because its 'simple'. Well i am hoping they make it like insta but with a shop...

Nice review... How good is the team of this project? I am making ICO reviews too so check it sometimes ;) UP and follow...

Thanks.. the team I dont know other than ned.. cool man thanks, wil chek it..

Good jop.
Please visit to my blog.
I will follow you every day

Thanks for following. Wil chek it.

Hey @foovler thanks for the support. We are very excited as well. Next time you post about APPICS feel free to message us on steem.chat or e-mail me : [email protected] and we will support you!

Yes! Will do...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79