Using Your Own Original Content From Your Own Website On Steemit...

in #steemit8 years ago

Clarification Please!


I'm new to steemit, so I guess this post is aimed at people who have been here a while and know how things work (or want them to work) and also any newbies who are looking for the same answers I am. I've had a little look around and I'm liking it so far. BUT I do have questions:

  • I realise this site is new, and I'm guessing it's still evolving into how it's actually going to work in the long-term? With users suggesting different ways they would like it to work, and also using it in different ways, it's going to change overtime and basically end up how the majority would like to use it. I read the article https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/what-is-original-content-to-steemians and it did help me make sense a little, but didn't really give me a clear cut answer, mainly because I don't think there is one yet.
So, here is my main question:

  • If I have a website where I've been adding my own original articles to, is it OK to copy one of these articles I have created over to steemit, or should I paste a link to my website as a post on steemit? Or are neither of these options the way to go, and steemit is to be used solely for completely original content?
Obviously I don't want to hurt my website's ranking or steemit's ranking in any way, so just wanted some clarification on these points.

Any feedback is much appreciated, as I believe this platform is a great idea, and really look forward to see where it goes from here.

Sort:  

I would be interested in this as well. I have either copied blog posts of mine to Steemit, or have used them as the main part of Steemit posts

Thanks for the comment stevecoins. I was tempted to do the same as I have a website which includes a blog, but just concerned that this would affect website ranking as it may be counted as duplicate content. After reading the link I pasted above, this seems to be the case. Although it looks like a lot of people do this at present, for better or worse. Have you been on Steemit long?

about a month now (actually had a whale hit for the first time today).

On my own part, I am not worried about website duplication; my blog seems to drop out of Google indexing. I write about right-wing stuff, and my suspicion is that is the reason, even though I can't say that for sure.

Even without the nice boost I got today, I have made more here on Steemit than I have on Blogger.

If you are being indexed well on your original blog, you might not want to duplicate here. But you can synthesize new posts here from your old posts on your blog.

Thanks for the tips. Yeah, I don't really want my blog to drop out of google indexing so I'll play it safe for now and stick to original content, unless anymore clarification comes up. Just had a little look at your profile, was it your Hot Buttered Rum recipe that struck gold? It does sound tasty so may have to give it a go!

yeah that was it, and man that is some tasty stuff, especially when it's cold. I actually had made it for some dancers named Cinnamon and Brown Sugar, back when I was younger and richer than I am now LOL

as far as Steemit goes, just keep up posting, commenting on other's posts, encouraging new folks, and networking.

With it being your original content, reposting it here is absolutely no problem. I would recommend saying that it was your article on the other site for when the plagiarism checker comes around.

Feel free to join the #steemprentice channel in steem.chat if you have any questions. Lotta people in there to do nothing but help. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72