Just about to hit 100 SteemPower, but what does that mean?

in #steemit7 years ago

Nearly there

IMG_2756.jpg

So, it's been two months since I'd dive bombed into the big wide Steemit ocean and it's been crazy! The sheer concept initially blew my mind and I thought to myself, let's see what this is all about. So I hit the ground running, sidelining my existing commitments and blogging like a mad man. Two months on, I'm exhasted, confused and humbled.

IMG_2812.jpg

I'm exhausted, because probably like most of you on here, I'm giving it my all. Personally I'm riding everywhere, feeling like I've got to jump on a story and report on it, photograph it, but I love it. I'm confused because the payout system is severely out of synch with the basic understanding of contribution for reward, as many of you on here already know, it's not a fair system, or is it? You see, I'll give an example below using two different posts.

IMG_2741.jpg

One post has 27 votes with a 27 cents payout and the other post had 16 votes and $61 payout. I have posts that I have spent nearly all day working on, to receive an absolute pittance, but then a photo garners serious dollars. When I spread out all of my earnings against what I have posted over the last two months, it's actually been really good, so I love it! It's about taking a holistic perspective and not getting bogged down by your own expectations not being met. I get it, but for everyday people, whom are used to earning an hourly, weekly, monthly pay for their work, they will struggle to understand the payment system, but that I'm sure will change over time.

IMG_4713.JPG

I'm humbled by my fellow Steemians (This is not a Cheese Sandwich moment), who are pioneering this whole new concept, and when I read an article about what the Witnesses have to do to keep the system flowing, you have to take your hat of to them. It's a 24/7 job, and then we have the Whales and Dolphins, people whom I do not know, but have rewarded me for my work and I'm really appreciative of your contributions, also for that one second of a click, believing in me. :-) Then we have the lower tiered group of Steemians that I belong to, who are plowing away every day, like a machine in front of their terminal, riding this new wave, trying to stay afloat in an ocean that's expanding everyday.

IMG_5550.JPG

So, it now brings me to my question of what does it mean to have 100 Steem Power. I have been trying to find out any information that will tell me what comes with attaining this level, or some kind of chart explaining the hierarchy, I guess. I read somewhere that there are different kinds of Minnows? If someone could succinctly tell me what it entails when you reach this number, I would be so grateful. Either way, it will be a milestone to soon be reaching that status, and I look forward to finding out what possibilities come with that promotion. It's a promotion people, c'mon!!! ;-D

I read this Steemian's article and he was over the moon to have reached 100 Steem Power, so it must mean something?
https://steemd.com/steemit/@jdc/100-steem-power-2017626t155656932z

Also, whilst I have your attention, I found this link about a Steemit Festival last year and I am wondering if there is another one planned for this or next year, and more importantly, who's taking care of the vegetarian cocktail sausages? I must be on the invitation list, surely! :-D
http://www.coindesk.com/steemfest-reveals-the-power-of-blockchain-community/

Loving Steemit, however bumpy the ride is!

Flatrider

Sort:  

Great article and yes they are gonna have a fest again this year it is gonna be in Lisbon, I didn't resteem the article so sorry I can't link you because I didn't resteem it and I don't know how to find articles yet that I have seen but didn't resteem and want to find again. Sadly I can't go

That's lovely of you to say and thank you so much. Oh well, I'm sure they'll be many of them popping up all over the world in the coming years. I'll just put the veggie cocktail sausages back the fridge then. :-(

Congratulations @flatrider! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good work Steemit! :-D

Gosh I was hoping you would tell me more about the 100 steem power, LOL. I am trying to get there myself but really don't know why. I will check out the links you provided. Have an awesome day!!

Thanks Alice and I'm hoping that someone will reach out and clear things up. We'll have to see, and you have an even more awesome day my dear! ;-D

If someone does explain things a bit further, please tag me and let me know in case I miss it and I will do the same if I find out anything more. ;-D

We're both on it Alice! ;-D

Many many Congratulations for achieving this wonderful milestones. Well done & keep it up !
Upvoted your post and resteem.

Thank you so much and I really appreciate it Irfanullah! :-)

Congrats on reaching this milestone! Steemit can really be frustrating at times when you put good effort on a post and it isn't noticed but we have to keep going!

Have a good day!

Thank you so much Displacer and you're not wrong there, but perseverance is the key. Have a lovely day mate.

You are one of my first followers and thank you for sharing your observations and info

Awesome! Thank you and you're welcome. :-)

All I can say is ditto!

I'm not alone then. Thanks Marcel! ;-D

Vegetarian cocktail sausage? Really? Beware of too much soy ;)
Congratulations on reaching this milestone. Just wondering, does your name have any deeper meaning??
Cheers and greets from Germany, steem on.

Oh yes, I'm veggie all the way! :-D Thanks Nackte and the Netherlands is a very 'flat' place and I love cycling, so we reach the name Flatrider. What else could I possibly mean my dear??? ;-D

Haha, I have no idea, I am just a woman who doesn't know what she is talking about ;) But thank God for the flatness ;) ride on and cheers!

Well, you must be Nackte, what on this 'round' earth do you mean??? You can't beat a bit of flatness my dear! Steem on! Cheers, but I'm not drinking! ;-D

I drink and smoke (not all the time), maybe that's why ;) Sometimes I feel the spin but only when I can't trust my senses. So long, I only know that I know nothing ;)

That's good Nackte, moderation is key. Know what about what my dear??? ;-D

Haha, see that's the thing, I don't know! ;-D

know what??? ;-D

Congratulations! Hopefully the next 100 SP will come more quickly!

Thank you so much and we shall just have to see. ;-)

New goal; 1000 SP ; )

Baby steps Waza, baby steps. ;-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62899.90
ETH 2688.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56