Steem Power (SP) increasing > 200% a year? Or error in Steemstats

in #steemit8 years ago

While researching a post about the distribution of wealth on Steemit I was looking on steemstats (thanks @jesta great site) and checking out my grotwth rate for SP and it seemed high. So I threw in a couple of top 10 whales as well, @dantheman, high volume user, and @val-b, low volume user. I allowed it to collect data for 20mins, and checked that none of the accounts had received any payouts. These are the results

I had thought that an average user that curates and posts an average amount with average success will receive roughly 90% increase in their SP. While these 3 accounts seem to be receiving over 200% increase, without taking into account curation/author rewards.

Is there a mistake in my interpretation of this, or in the stats, or my ~90% understanding? Any comments are welcome, thanks.

Sort:  

The numbers you see are for the interest rate of Steem Power, everyone holding SP gets an interest on it and thus over time even without doing anything it just increases. You can check your wallet to see that in action, just refresh the page after a bit :)

There is also an interest rate on Steem Dollars that you hold in your wallet, though that gets calculated on a monthly basis apparently.

The amount of STEEM created each year is 100% the current numbers, if my posted numbers are correct, where is all the SP coming from?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79