Sort:  

Relying on Steemit - an experimental, beta stage product in the highly unstable field of cryptocurrencies - to pay your rent is like relying on lottery to pay your rent. The odds to predictably succeed at any of these two are equal, at this moment.

The only difference is that in Steemit, the longer your play the game, the higher the odds to get something in return, whereas in lottery the odds are always pretty much the same.

Calibrating your expectations would probably help. Also, not giving up your day job yet, or quickly finding one if you're out, will also help big time.

I'm still keeping my day job too, although I'm investing a solid 2-3 hours per day in this toy.

Welcome to my life of poverty since losing everything else when I lost "Half My Size" in in 2011. The fallout from my extreme weight loss has been even more extreme.

Friends, family, work, my home - it all disappeared when I lost weight yet somehow I still now do everything I can to help other obese people like me lose weight. I hope no one else has to go through what I went through, but the obesity stats tell a different story.

I moved to Thailand to cut expenses among other reasons. At least most of the people I encounter here are thin and healthy.

I am on many other platforms besides steemit. I have written books, coach online and in person, and get affiliate sales through my work. Every single month, my financial life is a struggle. Steemit has been a huge bright spot. I admit dropping balls to be more active here in the last months, but this has been a huge money maker in the scheme of things I do.

Through an author group, I found out why my books stopped selling in about October - they were all pirated like those of many of my friends. One book that used to sell 5-7 copies a month is now being downloaded for free on many sites - 100's of times each month. I looked into the process of trying to fix that just long enough to decide to try harder on steemit instead.

I am almost done and ready to publish my 5th book - but why should I do that if I can drip it out here - actually help real people who communicate with me - and make money at the same time?

There is no day job when you are an old crippled lady accountant. Especially not if you lost all your weight and all the other accountants are still obese. I could have gone on disability back in the states and chose not to go that route of govt handouts. So this is what I do.

I have been on 5 platforms that failed and disappeared during the years I have been doing this. I assure this is a worry for me with steemit as well. This is why I will not be an investor in the sense you mention in your post.

But right now - it's the best thing I have going and I promote the place everywhere I can so hopefully it will succeed. The vast majority of my content-creating friends are just like me - scrambling each month to keep going with our passions. If we come here and make money - then we keep trying - beta or no beta.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71