Steemit Has A Challenger

in #steemit7 years ago

https://medium.com/holochain/holochain-the-blockchain-picks-up-a-dimension-4dca43fe3a73

The article has this video linked, but I wanted it to show up in the feed so I am posting it separately also. I have just started watching it, I am NOT blockchain savvy... but this sounds like someone else is trying to build another "steemit" with a little different functionality. We are comparing an actual functioning site to a "vision" but...

I am NOT poo-pooing steemit! But we had some issues last week, ones I really do not understand. What I DO understand is this system is still 'beta" and that seems to irritate some folks, there is concern that the developers are letting this platform languish while they focus on the backside. Well, this is the "wake up call."

If this platform does not go fully live and functional before THIS gets launched, it could be the end of what has begun here. I wish I had the skills, I would try to help but... I'll feed the chickens while you boys do the tech thing, that is about the best I can offer. I do hope those who DO have the skills will rise to the occasion.

Sort:  

Competition of the market is what guarantees the best for all of us.

I wouldn't say it's time to start powering down, and it'd be risky anyway, so it's understanable if you're not sure, whether you should take a look at Holochain.

But the whole thing is speculative. So far, I can't see any decline in Steem, it's not too late, and people won't start using an n+1 social media site if it's not established yet.

Steem is gaining a critical mass, though.

Anyways, only time will tell, but then again, competition is what'll tell who is the better. I trust in Steem but if any serious decline happens, I'll consider visiting Holochain, too.

It's up to the community, not only the quality.

I did mention it was comparing a live site to a vision,. I do not know any of the developers for either site, I just know what "rumors" float around here about the developers here not really caring about steemit, as a social media platform. Maybe that is not accurate, but if it is they may regret ignoring the goose that may lay them golden eggs. The melding of social media with crypto IS the future of social media, and as far as I know steemit was the pioneer but they will get left in the dust if they do not get THIS part of the platform polished up. Myspace had a jump on facebook, but they did not stay competitive. Look where they are now.

Here's a bit more information about the project if you're interested in learning more about Holochain. There's a new article series by blockchain expert Art Brock on that blog offering it as a blockchain alternative.

To implement this we’d have to abandon the cryptocoin token-centric approach for a crypto-accounting, user-centric approach. Luckily there’s a blockchain alternative called Holochain that makes this kind of thing pretty straightforward to build.

holo.host is the first step in helping to build a truly distributed hosting ecosystem for distributed apps so you could run a holochain version of steemit possibly.

Thank you! So it is not really a competitor, but a different way to host the platform? I will check out the links too.

@fishyculture @katamori there is an ambassador program that just started where you can get the latest news on the upcoming crowdfund for the platform. Become a Holo ambassador from the blockchain community here or the dev community here if you're interested in learning more and getting news first

Thank you, I am on the email list at the dev site now.

Yes, that's what I meant, yet we're still at the beginning of this new technology, so who knows what'Ll happen.

Interesting. Bitcoin has the "first mover advantage" in the crypto space. It seems Steemit has the same in the crypto-social space -- but as you mentioned, MySpace was on top and now Facebook is.

These growing pains of the past week are a bit much to deal with. The silver lining is, that old military expression, "if you're not taking flack, you're not over the target." :)

What a wonderful post.
Steemit developers should try to hasten things up and move this platform to a greater height.

I love steemit, and I stand with steemit.

Happy Steeming

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39