You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit’s Three Major Problems

in #steemit7 years ago

OUTSTANDING.
I would be more OK with the whales being if they got their on their own, but many of them BUY their power. Now we are back at problem 2, if the only way to become a whale here is to buy your influence, that is going to make this a platform where rich people push their agendas over time. There are a couple whales I will continue to follow because I like their work, but I will NEVER upvote another whale. They never upvote minnows, I will save my puny vote for the minnows. Someone has to feed the baby fish, dammit, those whales are fat enough. And I trie dwhat my husband so delicately calls "giving whale head" and got a whale to notice me! He commented on my comment! His comment was how much he loved my comment! But he could not bother to hit that upvote button and let a few pennies roll my way. Would not have cost him a thing, but he saves those votes for other whales so he can get richer of his incestuous whale sex. :) So I am swearing off whale blow jobs too...
I am going along for the ride, see where this goes, but backing up to problem 1...
My BIGGEST concern is that this is a big AI project designed to keep useless eaters busy. If I do not see ACTUAL benefit coming from this platform, as in people coming together to do things more meaningful than make memes or papapepper reading his audiobooks or banfield blowing his horn... (where IS the PIZZAGATE resistance on here?!) I will find something else to do with my time. I do not know the founders. The one thing I have seen is they brought a pet on board last week and immediately gave her a reputation score of 53. She had posted 2 articles and made about a dozen comments of "thank you." Apparently she gives REALLY good whale head.
God, I hope you have a sense of humor!

Sort:  

"but he saves those votes for other whales so he can get richer of his incestuous whale sex." - almost made me choke on the pancake I was having for breakfast. Poetic, yet slightly tacky - I like it.

Let me address a couple of your other points:

  1. Upvoting whales. I beg to differ here. I will upvote people who write quality content that resonates with me, no matter who they are. If I pass a stranded car on a deserted highway stretch, I'm not simply passing by, because the stranded person drives a Masarati. I'll strive to treat people equally, no matter their current situation. Also - I do follow your logic, but you could use the same logic to refrain from upvoting this post. Now, I'm not a whale - but still, what difference does 2 cents make for me right now? It's not about the money , it's an expression of opinion: "I like your stuff, show me more". We shouldn't focus on the money here, but on the content. That being said, there's nothing more pathetic than people upvoting whale posts, that are non-content bs redundancy-posts. That's wrong and may be a key problem imo.

  2. Coming together with people. I'd like to think we can come together no matter our rep scores. For instance, I'm following you now, because I like the humor you use, and the intellectual ping-pong I think we can have. Others will follow other people who also post 'beautiful sunset over [insert]" posts. That's a good thing.

Thanks a lot for engaging in this conversation!

You have a very valid point on #1 but this is why I feel my votes are better saved for minnows, a little selfish but honest. The key here is making your name known around here. Minnows are fairly predictable for me as I am one. We look at those votes, see who is voting up our posts. We remember those names. I doubt whales even look, and even if they look and like your comment and even if you make such an impression they follow you... not the same impact long term as being the little fish who gave you a hand up when you were krill, or even swam alongside you in your minnow time. Those are people who will actually going to READ the posts, and engage in conversations based on actual common interests, not just a mutual adoration society.
Thanks YOU for engaging in intelligent conversation with me! That is what gets lost with autoupvotes and resteem bots and such, the "social media" aspect of all this.
And you did get my incredibly valuable .01 upvote ;)

Ha ha - thank you for that! I am, after all, a fellow minnow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65