What I learned about posting a successful steemit post

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My Steemit story so far

I’m pretty new and excited to be on steemit overall. I’ve put up several posts and was in a slump after my first introduce yourself post. Fortunately, that slump has ended after posting a first successful post as can be seen here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@fireriseace/steemit-addiction-and-sleep-deprivation That being said, after putting up several posts and seeing which ones work and which don’t here are some of the lessons that I’ve learned.

Incorporate bold titles into the start of each paragraph

Beginning each one of your paragraphs with a title formatted in bold drives home the message of the upcoming paragraph and brings the reader into line with your viewpoint. By also including bold text into your writing it also serves to make your writing style appear more varied. Just make sure that you have enough written material in between these bold title statements, if not it will just get annoying and make your readers feel as if you’re constantly shouting at them.

Break your article into short to medium sized paragraphs

How many times have you clicked on an article and were confronted with a gigantic essay and felt like it was going to be a little work to get to the end of it? Let’s face it, people crave simplicity, myself included. If you are putting up an article analyzing the latest facts and trends in the cryptocurrency market sphere, that is one thing, but for the average person, clear, consice and easy to understand writing is best. Your article will appear much easier to read if you break down your main points into short to medium sized paragraphs.

Don’t confuse quality with quantity

There has been a lot of talk lately emphasizing that your work needs to be a quality post and while that is true, it doesn’t necessarily have to be a dissertation or a novel. I have put up several posts that I felt were of great quality and originality and they were a bit longer, but they did not necessarily do as well as some of my other posts. In the end, what will garner a vote will be content that has an enticing headline, is easy to read and is something that is likely to be perceived as valuable by the community. To date, more of my successful postings have included the word steemit and have some discussion of steemit in the article. You may actually have a very unique and interesting story to share and while that can make great content I think people right now are looking to learn about steemit.


Develop your writing style

As I said before, writing that is clear, concise and easy to read provides value for your readers. It also helps to be yourself. If you come across as a real person and kind of down to earth, it makes your content easier to relate to and your message will resonate more with your audience. It may take a little bit of time to develop your own style.

Consistency

It’s best to practice as much as your time and schedule will allow. Writing is a skill just like anything else. Even if you have nothing to say, just sit down and come up with something. It’s best to just keep practicing and I’ll be honest with you, when I first sat down to write my first successful post, I wasn’t even sure what I was going to write about, but I had faith in the other steemians on here who recommended that consistency is key. They were right!

Include some pictures

Seriously, if you post something and it doesn’t have a picture in it, why even try? Posts are way more pleasing to look at when they have some type of media added in. Not to mention, they usually get much more attention as well. It’s not that hard and there are tons of resources on here to teach you how to do it. Just make sure that you are not using copyright protected imagery in order to avoid problems further down the road. I use a search function provided by this website to aquire creative commons material https://creativecommons.org/.


Be smart about tags

By including multiple tags in your post, your content will appear in multiple places across steemit. There’s no need to go overboard, just highlighting a few key topics from the article will usually suffice. Also, if you include steemit as a tag it is more likely to get viewed, but that’s entirely up to you.

Don’t forget to say thanks. Build your reputation.

I owe a lot of success of my first post to @dragonslayer109 who featured it in a post by @gavvet with posts from featured authors. That really helped with the visibility of my post. Thanks also to all of the whales who gave me an upvote for that as well @berniesanders . Lastly, when you do reach your goals, don't forget to pay it forward and vote up and coming steemit writers.

#steemit #success #how-to #writing #motivational
This is optional, but the last one or two lines I like to say thanks for reading the blog and encourage people to leave comments. Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing your comments!

Sort:  

I only just started to use bold titles before my paragraphs, but I still need to improve. Thank you for the guidelines.You did a great job!

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Good suggestions. I've been trying to encourage people to comment more because it is essential for community building. It can also be just as rewarding as a submission.

That's true but doesn't the author get more of the reward for a comment?

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.8 and reading ease of 71%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75