Let's Talk—Why Is Facebook Treating Steemit URLs as Spam? (UPDATE: It's Deleting My Post In 30 Days Now!)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've faced this issue last evening when I shared my post from Steemit on Facebook! I woke up today to a warning from Facebook that my link could be spam! My last few shares on my account didn't do particularly well either.

I've been Leveraging Facebook To Promote Steemit Content and the results have been wonderful! It has created incredible awareness about the platform in my social circles resulting in over 100+ signups just from my regular Steemit promotion. I'm yet to level up my game here!

But over the last few days my engagement on my links have dropped on my personal account so I changed my tactics to share images and link the Steemit URLs as a link in my FB status update. This approach is working fine for me.

Today, in a notification Facebook asked me if this was spam but I've marked it as, 'Not Spam'. I wonder if FB is shadow banning Steemit again?

Have you faced these issues and what do you think about Facebook's approach to links shared on our personal accounts on this old social media platform?

Update:

So, FB now will delete this post if I choose not to!

I think this is BS on part of Facebook to even send me a notification like this. People share utter crap and that gets passed around as viral content! There's so much real spam on Facebook and this is what they want to do to authentic users sharing valuable content!

Any opinions?


If you like my work, please share my posts and follow my blog to support me. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Press Coverage of #1 India Steemit Accelerator in Top Indian News Publications!
  2. How I made $70000 in 11 Months Using a $300 Pre-Owned Laptop, Steemit and 10SP!
  3. My Most Incredible Steemit Milestone Moment and Why It Means the World to Me!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

"First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win" - Someone other than me.

Steemit is YouTube 2.0 and Facebook 2.0 at once, and much more than that. Insteading of mining as POW (Proof of Work), it's contribution to the network. Sharing. Of course Facebook and YouTube don't like Steem. It's either cooperate or lose, and Facebook doesn't seem to want to cooperate yet.

We remove content, disable accounts, and work with law enforcement when we believe there is a genuine risk of physical harm or direct threats to public safety---facebook.@firepower I think you should directly contact the facebook support and ask them what is the threat or what harm can your post do.

yes @firepower you MUST call them out on their bullshit here and DEMAND they give a reason why competitor links are being banned which violates SO many anti trust and anti monopoly laws!
facebook wont stop till we threaten a lawsuit! There are rights users have on these sites and facebook cant egally clai to hae ths open market and then censor peopel selectively, its not some private property thatthey can do whatthey wish, they WILL face consequences, legal or economic! faceboom will begin BLEEDINg users untill they depseratly begin offering to pay users, bt they wont pay thenm barely anything and it wont work, steemit will experience what Reddit expeineced when Digg died and everyone Mass Exodused rom Digg.com to reddit a decade ago!

remember Digg.com? or Myspace or Frindster? Yeah Facebook will be like Myspace or Friendster! Noone will be using it anymore!

@shankar and @ackza thanks guys! I'm going to continue posting there and give them a finger while at it! lol!

1 word: competition.

Since here I am a bit more anonymous I can share on steemit stuff I wouldnt share on facebook. As I use Facebook only to keep in touch with friends and family and post on of those "look at what beatiful beach I am" pictures.

For people who promote their content on Facebook it is a different story for sure, but there I have no experience to talk about it.

As I think they still can co-exist as steemit is about sharing ideas, stories etc and facebook has more of a personal touch to me, it is still a business and of course if you promote a potent competitor on their site they will not be happy about it and it is also their right imo as they want to protect their company of course.

Things will get really interesting if steemit will also go to a more personal level as for now it is more like a better reddit imo.

Every company is gonna offend by its competitor, i mean look at YouTube when you post some link from YouTube Facebook will only show it to a few people even if you have millions of likes or followers, the same will be happening to steemit even if they allowed it on their site in the first place, Facebook want to control the whole internet and also want to destroy YouTube as they recently acquired the services of big Hollywood studios to make original shows which will cost Facebook 30 million per episode, we can criticize YouTube but at-least they are paying the creators something, on the other hand Facebook is not paying the creators a penny @firepower

What's more frustrating is when I try to show people how a video I share through YouTube won't get watched but a video I share through Facebook gets all kinds of pay and they either don't believe me or don't care T_T The only way around it is to do as the OP does and share an image with a URL and now it seems even that is under fire :-o

Does it really surprise you that a direct competitor to Facebook is being treated as spam?

Not really. But its a good sing. Means they are scared. If they are scared, means Steemit has the potential to outplay Facebook. So... nothing to get mad about, time will tell. Saionara Zuckerberg !

Yes. and right fully so.

They might have found out the true potential of steemit, maybe that's why they are trying to show people steemit is a scam.
This may be their strategy to take out any other platform that can take their place as they want to keep the social media leaders crown.

I know Reddit doesn't like Steemit links either, it will only slow the change and not stop it however. "Don't post anything for free" will resonate within people all over the world.

Sure it will resonate, steemit has taught me and everyone else a very beautiful thought, "Our opinion matters".

The next two years will be really interesting to follow.

Sure it would be.

What kind of reaction do you think will come from Facebook, Twitter etc. if Steemit really starts to gain traction?

Facebook Reward points?

OK interesting.

Facebook = government tool.

Now Facebook might end up buying Steemit as they did it with Instagram.

hahah they ccant buy steemitthats like facebook "Buying" biitcoin lol go ahead and buy as many bitcoins as u want lol facebook can buy as much steempower as they want LOL driving proce up making us all rich, and we could just all flag them whenthey try posting here LOL also wtnesses here ahve control over the blockchaina nd we can hodla vote and all MUTE facebooks account etc so many possiiities for revenge hahah wjust kidding but im sseriousy aoout how faceook CANT buy steemit LOL

The only way they can buy steemit is buying all the steem tokens which will drive the steem price very high..And even then there will be people who will not sell their sp or steem for that high price because its worth more than what fb can offer..

Loved this idea.

I don't think so people of this community would be interested in being operated by zuckerberg.

would that be a good or a bad thing ?

It would be a bad thing, as Facebook work hand in glove with the CIA who are known for targeting individuals with harassment based on the intel they gather about the person of interest. Believe me, you don’t want that kind of attention.

thanks for the insight ghost, but could you explain how this may or may not happen to steemit as well? Wouldn't the CIA be able to penetrate this platform just like FB?

If facebook buys steemit.com to hide content and control narrative people would just move to busy.org or any other site using the steem blockchain.
I don't think facebook is interested at all to buy steemit.com which is why they are censoring steemit link.

That would not be anything because that would not happen in any case.

I've had that thought for a while now. It's very possible FB purchases Steemit.

Or maybe Steemit will buy Facebook sooner or later :) (I mean we all)

We've been dealing with this type of thing from Facebook for years. We need to support sites like Steemit and onG.social (onGcoin.io) who are giving back to the communities that provide the value and get off of these crntralized data collection sites that are sifting and selling all of our data without our consent!

How does ongcoin work?

I can only say that steemit is providing me something, don't know anything about the other one so can't say what it provides.

But steemit can't replace facebook. I don't understand why that comparison always comes up. They're completely different things. Facebook is, well, facebook. Social media. It's all about profiles, communicating, (re)connecting, networking, and self marketing/ego boosts, etc.. Steemit is more of a blogging platform. It doesn't even have direct messages (as far as I can tell). I'd say it's a competitor to medium for example, or maaaybe reddit, not facebook.

I don't use facebook by the way. It has no appeal to me. I'm not defending it or calling it better than steem. Just saying they're different things and not in competition with each other.

I agree. I use both steemit and Facebook, but I would never use steemit the way I use Facebook. Facebook is more spontaneous and low level, while I want to post more valuable content on steemit.

"First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win."
Mahatma Gandhi

True! Time to say Good bye Facebook.

That's how facebook deal with anything that can be a threat for them. If they don't like it. You are spam lol I remember when TSU was growing and actually get some online attention they have also blocked their links.

Pretty convenient "Community Guideline" by the looks of things...

I don't think they can stop Steemit and it's interesting that they are making an effort to try. Thanks for a great post! Lots of nonsense happening on FB and people won't keep liking and using the platform if they aren't careful...

I AGREE! Still trying to figure out how to make my voting power go up.

Where are you from?

@judym Yeah, I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05