You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stopping Downvote Censorship on Steemit: Suggestions For a New Model for Anti-Spam That Prevents Malicious Censorship

in #steemit7 years ago

I did read the original post, just lost my train of thought in the replies apparently. As far as the Rogues Gallery or separate list idea, you say that the community will come to a consensus from that point going forward on what should be hidden, who are the people that decide? It seems like you are not a big fan of Steem Power being the deciding factor, were you suggesting just every person who views the post gets sort of a "yes this should be hidden" or "No, this should still be visible" vote?

Sort:  

my aim is simply to facilitate real balance. real balance is defined as 'no part or aspect is being overpowered'. everyone who is using the site has agreed to the TOS and so if they are forced to go outside of the TOS then they are being pushed out of balance.
I absolutely am 100% against steem power being the deciding factor here, yes. Steem power can be purchased using fiat currency and thus can be entirely dominated by whoever has the most resources. It is like our current court systems but even WORSE, since there isn't even an attempt being made to put up a facade of independence.. It is simply that whoever has the most 'money' has the most power. That is the total opposite of balance.

I do not know what the best solution is in this case, I am a fan of trying different options and reaching an agreement on what works the best. The idea you put forward with regards up/down votes on the decision could be one option that might work.. But it will have it's flaws too. At least by requiring the deciding factor to be the number of votes and those votes having not been bought by 'money' then there is a chance of mitigating the problem of oligarchic domination.

I feel at the moment that there are enough people here who care about liberty and justice that such a system might work ok - however, I see a repeating trend on all new social sites I use that get big and it will possibly cause a problem at some point. There are enough groups in society who have no care at all about such things as balance and justice that once they all adopt new platforms we are stuck again with the same old battle lines where any weapon available can and will be used to continue their fights... So a simple up/down vote in the community may not be enough - but at least it is a start.

I think a 1 vote per 1 person is just as easily abused, if not more. I would prefer to give the bigger say to people with more skin in the game as opposed to the person who can make the most accounts or has the most friends.

Anywho, I guess this was all a long way of saying that I really don't have a problem with the system as it is now. It is by no means perfect, but I would rather have the ability to upvote and flag as I like without someone in charge to tell me what I can and can't do. If someone flags a post of mine and I felt it wasn't deserved I'll bring it to the attention of the community. If it seems like the majority of people are against me, then maybe I was in the wrong to begin with and I'll move on to something else.

I do appreciate the open discussion, part of why I love Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65