You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Bank Is An Anachronism!

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm no big fan of the banking industry but the crypto currencies still can't compete with the convenience of traditional banks yet. Things seem to be headed in a direction that could make traditional banks more obsolete but there are still some issues to work out, security being one. If someone steals my bitcoins I am pretty much screwed where as at least with a bank I know I am getting my money reimbursed. Loved the article though, it shows that you definitely can get out of the system I just don't think it is ready for the masses yet.

Sort:  

@fingolfin Properly managed, no one should be able to steal your coins and that's part of the point of this. It's getting easier every day to manage your coins whether they be bitcoin, steem, SBD, bitUSD. Tools are here and more are coming. Soon it's going to be like the smartphone revolution. You'll look at someone whipping out a credit card and be like Oh yeah haha! I used to have one of those too! Here try some real money!

When you are talking about converting over the general population though properly managed isn't something that your average person can necessarily handle. I am always reminded of the George Carlin quote, "Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64