Post HF19 Discussion Hopefully with Witnesses - Topics: Prize Pool Drainage, 4x Stronger Power of Vote, Significant Portion of Daily Generated Steem on Few Accounts, Weekly/Monthly Reward Cap

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I guess that I’m not the only one that feels like the post HF19 era is not really helping Steem. Since I care about the site I wanted to engage with witnesses, to get to know whether they are discussing the topic and what are their thought processes. Since lot of people feel the same, I think that this could be perfect opportunity for some of you to present yourself and gain some new witness votes. Also the situation could be clarified for those like me that want to know some of the stuff “behind the scenes” but have not yet found access to it. We (the users) would also have the chance to discuss such a topic with those we vote for.

I understand that there were some good changes. It’s not like I oppose the whole HF. I just feel that it’s not time to rest on one’s laurels. We have to be ever-vigilant in order to have a permanently growing platform.

Source


Topics that I want to tackle

  1. Prize pool drainage (Self-vote cap)
  2. Power of vote 4x stronger and its outcomes
  3. Horrendous portion of daily generated Steem concentrated on few accounts causing inability to appeal to masses
  4. Weekly/Monthly pay out cap

First I want to tackle the problem of depleting reward pool and if there can be something done, or whether we will soon be on week-to-week supply basis. I will present possible partial solution to that problem.

Then will come thoughts on 4x power boost.

Third problem will be an inability to attract sufficient amount of people to near the Steem’s potential and what I think is the real problem.

Forth part will be another solution, this time to both the tackled problems – the weekly pay out cap.

Keep in mind that I don’t understand the code perfectly. I did not anticipate the negative outcomes of HF 19 (I actually fully supported it) and it’s possible that some side effects of proposed solutions are evading my sight. I mainly want to stir up a discussion where Witnesses would also engage. 


Prize pool drainage

Basic info + data

I think it’s important to clarify how this all works, so everyone can create his opinion based on some facts.

  • Current yearly supply of Steem is 251,530,472.283
  • Every 250,000th block the an inflation rate decreases by 0.01%
  • At 7,000,000th block it was 9.5%
  • Current amount of blocks is 13703390
  • Current inflation rate is then 9.231
  • Every day a 251,530,472 * 0.0923 / 365 = 63,606
  • Only 75% of that is claimable by authors and curators, therefore 63,606 * 0.75 = 47,704
  • Every day there is new 47,704 Steem to claim

Pre HF 19 situation

There were 2 major factors why reward pool was growing over time, instead of depleting.

  • No-whale-voting experiment
  • Non-linear voting curve

The only way how to get to know the old reward pool known to me is – When the HF19 hit, my vote was worth 0.35. Now it is 0.7. Now I also have double the amount of SP than I had back then. If I had the power I have now my post HF19 power would be 0.70. So now its 10x less powerful, which means that the reward pool now is 10x smaller. The reward pool now is 756,575 Steem and is further depleting every minute. That means that the reward pool had been around 7,565,750 Steem.

Not only didn’t the wealthiest of us vote with more than 1%, also to unlock one’s voting potential, one had to team up with bunch of other voters to actually have an impact. Truth is that even with the experiment most users felt like they had no influence whatsoever. 

Post HF 19 situation

Even though to me it looks like the no-whale-voting experiment was a great success, we can’t possibly want from whales not to vote ever again. At the same time I believe that linear voting is fairer than its predecessor, because now one can vote with the actual power one has. With the situation as it is now though I’m inclined to think, that the reward pool will be depleting more and more until we reach that point when we are basically on day-to-day basis of Steem in reward pool (or week-to-week I’m not entirely sure how it works).  To provide a counterargument I’m going to share with you @timcliff “Reactions to HF19”. He claims that the Reward pool recalibration is nearing its equilibrium. I’m not convinced though, because first visible proof to me has yet to cross my eyes. Unfortunately I did not understand the steemdb data he has provided.  Anyway read the post if you want to have more information inputs. 

Self-vote cap

We have finally reached part where I will propose one of the possible partial solutions. I think we will all agree on the fact, that every Blockchain is “ruled” by the algorithm. What is not forbidden is allowed. All the investors are expected to act in the platforms best interest. The strength of the algorithm, the “output of work” that it provides, reliability and so on are all factors that ultimately influence the value of the token.

The problem is that people are selfish and most of them will prefer the short-term profit and the long-term credibility of the platform will come later. This is not global rule, but this pattern (short-term more than long-term) is very visible among a lot of wealthy users on this platform. I do not want to fight against people that are legally using their investment – they self-vote a lot. Not only that when person is selfish enough to use most of his power on himself, when he will be fought and won’t gain anything, he will have all the power now to fight those that flagged him first. This is undesirable.

Point is that those actions ultimately hurt the platform. This is in no way in accordance with the whitelist. Users can of course defend the interests of the platform, but the platform should defend itself too. I would love to defend the platform you know, but my account would be demolished if I decided to cast a flag in a way where I think someone’s power is being abused. And you know what? I don’t want to sacrifice myself, and almost no one would.

Basically all my propositions will be caps, for I think it is the best solution I have heard so far. Problem is that not only comments are being self-voted, but I have come across several wealthier accounts that spam posts too (single photo in a post, no text, photos of something like monkey bars and 10 posts per day where every single post has received a self-up vote worth 20 dollars). Therefore setting a cap only on comment votes would be useless, because the spam would just transits into posts. I understand that self-voting is an important part of Steemit and I don’t want to get rid of it completely. Raising visibility for your posts/comments can come in handy, I just think that there has to be a set limit. Limited has to be the number of self-votes because setting a % cap would just mean that the person would need to spam more to use his capacity. The number also has to be less than 10 (obviously). This is first topic that I want to be discussed. 


Power of vote 4x stronger and its outcomes

The idea of having 4x stronger vote is a good one. Almost no one has time and more importantly energy to read over 40 posts daily and having a possibility to utilize ones power in just 10 votes is great. Also possibility to greatly reward those who you think is deserving of it is awesome. In general I’m a fan of this change, but unfortunately it has brought many side effects with it too.

There were times when posts had much more votes than views. It was partly due to trails, but significant factor was also the fact, that since people didn’t have time to read 40 posts, they just voted blindly. Sometimes people (like me) didn’t just want to vote blindly and at least quickly went through the text. If it caught their attention, they would leave a comment too, thus increasing the traffic on the post. I was sad back then. I’m though even sadder now, because suddenly posts have much more views and comments spammy comments than the actual traffic and votes. The reason I think is that people do not have sliders. To gain a value on a post it’s necessary to receive votes from dolphins, ideally whale(s). Nothing can change that. At least some value though can be generated even by the minnows. The problem is though that minnows very rarely unite to vote for the same posts in order to generate some value – because they can only vote on 10 or so. If we had slider accessible much earlier, they could vote for more posts, not giving any miraculous value to the post, but at least we would have less of those posts that are informative, have 80+views, but 10 up votes. Do you think that the slider could help this matter, therefore motivate more users, because they would be receiving at least a bit more up votes? Or would it remain the same because most of the users wouldn’t want to spend extra time and would just use the full powered votes? 


Horrendous portion of daily generated Steem concentrated on few accounts causing inability to appeal to masses

I want to state in the beginning that this is only my opinion. It is not an offensive act, nor it is an opinion born from greed and envy.

Since the HF I’ve been spotting accounts that have been generating ridiculous amount of Steem. What I think is, that when a post hits 500 dollar mark, it should have some gigantic value in it. Those posts are the first thing a new incomer will spot. They are basically the main source to look at when potential user is deciding whether he should join the platform or not.

I’m not going to mention the users that frequently pop up in the trending page, but rather summarize them. Most of the users there either post once in a while – max 3 posts per week – to maximize information’s and not to milk away the reward pool, because they know they will receive those up votes. Then there are those that post a lot – 1-2 times per day – but are actually giving a lot back in form of holding contests, supporting other users, finding people that would develop something for the page, while promising them a reward. Then there are those that post a lot too, but they are not giving much to the community, they are not even powering up the Steem to increase its value, but rather increase only their crypto portfolio. Some of them were also milking the page so much that after the HF up until now they have been taking more than 10% of the daily generated Steem. That’s just straight ridiculous. Now when the reward pool is already depleted, it’s much less, but I still have the feeling that some of those users are only milking the platform.

The problem with the 4x stronger vote is that irresponsible whales now have even bigger impact on the platform’s appearance. @timcliff admits that the HF has brought negatives, which are strictly associated to “the bad behaviour of users”. Now let me tell you a secret. People will always act only in their best interests if there is nothing to set the rules for them. This “bad behaviour” as @timcliff implies will NEVER improve just from incentivizing the “correct behaviour”. There is no “bad” and “correct” behaviour. What is happening now is bad for the platform, but for the users it’s good because they are the ones who are earning. Who cares whether the prize drops in long-term, when they cash out the majority now and are basically like “fuck off platform and thanks for several vacations where I can live like king covered”. This will always be present, if the algorithm allows that. That brings me to another partial solution… 


Weekly/Monthly pay out cap

Here we are almost at the end of the article. As I said, “bad” behaviour will not weed itself out, when those that behave “badly” are also the wealthy ones. Algorithm has to set rules in order to support “good” behaviour that will help it in the long-run, and not the selfish people in the short run. The idea that I liked the most is a reward cap. Basically it would work in a way, when all your posts would decline rewards on upcoming post immediately after crossing the threshold. This would force people to work harder on their post and have less of them of higher quality, while still having option to go for a BOOM article that would earn thousands. If that happened, one could either keep posting for no reward, or he could work on their next posts and publish them when the cap is refreshed. I think that this would lead to increase of the quality of the posts of those regularly hitting trending page, therefore increase of the appearance of the whole platform. The only ones that would suffer from this would be those that post a lot, earn a lot and give a lot back in the process. What do you think about this guys? I would be interested in hearing some numbers from witnesses that would theoretically support this idea.


EDIT: First witness to respond was @aggroed. He has already proposed his ideas in previous posts which I missed. I’m going to share them here. I have removed some the points which were irrelevant, or already solved.

  1. Go the opposite direction with vote count. Give people more votes (80-100) so it's hard to keep only supporting the top 20 authors every day and you have to dig for more people. Support steemit.com based curation strategies that are fast to implement for new users so they can curate too (ie 1 click implementation of following the Minnow Support Project's curation trail). It ends up looking like a curation mutual fund :)
  2. Make vote power loss dependent on the relationship of SP of the voter to the author. If they have the same SP it costs normal. If you're voting on a minnow with much less SP it should cost a whale much less of their voting pool to upvote their content. That changes the incentive to upvote minnows.
  3. Double flagging efforts until its resolved.

My opinion:

  1. Going the opposite way is a fun idea. It would basically force people into following curation trails, or up vote blindly even more, because going through that amount of posts is totally not in human’s capabilities. Bot voting is still very present so arguing that this change would support them is irrelevant imo. This change would remove the potential go “all in” on few posts and get ridiculous curation reward for the wealthy ones. People either wouldn’t use their power, they would join trails, or they would vote blindly. Be it any give result, minnows would prosper.
  2. Don’t you feel that this change could ultimately drain the reward pool the most? If whales suddenly started voting for minnows and they would lose almost any power wouldn’t it backfire?
  3. As I said, flagging selfish person will only ensure swift death for people of my power. Whales, that don’t post much, could potentially afford that. As off yet I haven’t seen any real action though.

Overall I have to admit that @aggroed predicted the outcome pretty well. A lot of people consider this HF a success and going in like 180 degree way may be a bit to much to push trough. I encourage everyone to say what they think about those propositions and ideally compare them to mine. Also @aggroed could further elaborate on my objections. Anyway you guys should vote for this pal. Hes currently putting out the hardest work for all of us lowly minnows. And that in my eyes definitely deserves supporting!


I will be so rude to mention all the witnesses that I’m currently voting for, because I would really like to know their opinion. Feel free to share it with any other witness, or user, that would be willing to engage in discussion, thus promoting his ideas to the rest of us. @good-karma, @roelandp, @jesta, @pharesim, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @agoric.systems, @felixxx. Also I would love @timcliff to join us too (I’ve just recently got to know about you and I’m currently considering my 9th witness vote). Maybe this all is naïve futile try, but at least a though-out and executed try:).

Also I’m interested in hearing opinions from all of you. While it’s important to know the opinions of our witnesses, it’s also important that all of you, that want to add something about any given topic, or about all of them, express yourselves. That’s it I guess! See you in the discussion below.  


curation REP SP followers

Sort:  

If we had slider accessible much earlier, they could vote for more posts

You don't need a slider to be able to vote more. If you vote 20 times a day without a slider (which means with 100% voting strength), your voting power will naturally decrease to 50%.

It is the same as voting with a slider set to 50%. It will allow you to cast 20 votes a day with maintaining approx. 100% voting power.

This is only party true. If one had about 450SP he would be forced to vote with full strength on the first posts and less on the others. There is no way how to turn that around and I think that the option simply can’t hurt anyone. It seems only natural to me that after 4x stronger vote is established, a slider should be available 4x faster. I mean, where is the harm?

Also you’re taking in account your knowledge, but most of the new users hear "10 votes per day" and that’s the knowledge they act with. It takes time before they realize this fact and the only harmed subject is then the traffic on minnow’s posts. And again, what harm would the slider do?

Loading...

I've argued against the 4X change to voting since before it went live. Now I'm gonna pick a fight about possible mining in HF20.

Could you elaborate more on why are you against it even if we had a much earlier slider and about that possible mining you’re mentioning?

It screwed interminnow interactions. It led to self voting. It drained the reward pool. It's kinda a load of horseshit.

This all I have mentioned in the post too. Don’t you see any of those proposed changes as a solution to the problem?

I think there are lots of fixes, but I"m not sure it's actually seen as a problem by the top witnesses.

Im still waaiting for any "exact fix" since you didnt agree with any of my own yet and didnt propose any too. In that case we need more of those that do care.

That's correct. I've been posting on this subject for 3-4 weeks. The top witnesses don't consider it an issue from what I can tell. Hard to get enough traction for change when they all seem cool with it.

I have been reading most of your posts, but still didnt find any fix proposed by you. If I missed it could you link it to me?

"The problem is that people are selfish"

its almost like an economic system centered around profit motive does that.

That is something that is inbred. No life form can survive without being selfish. The behaviour of course transits into an economic system because earning money = survival there

I agree with you 100%

"No life form can survive without being selfish. "

working together is the next step of evolution in species.

look at ants, bees, pack animals, even the majority of humanity outside of capitalism.

Human nature is shaped by the system, not the other way around.

Please read the linked article about selfishness, because I would only be repeating its arguments, and then tell me if you still think that what you have just said is true.

I’m not saying that working together is not desired. Human beings are pack animals, we will never want to be on our own. Being selfish does not mean to be on your own. All of the animals you have described are also selfish. Selfishness is the core of every living genome.

Now please read the linked article.

"Selfishness is the core of every living genome."

you need to read up on "human nature"

"To look at people in capitalist society and conclude that human nature is egoism, is like looking at people in a factory where pollution is destroying their lungs and saying that it is human nature to cough." - Andrew Collier, Marx: A Beginner’s Guide

what linked article

I stopped as soon as I got to him talking about the "moral code"

morals are useless and subjective. Humans help each other because it pleases them. A system which forces people to fight to survive forces them to ignore that feeling. Over time they just naturally do so, its that simple.

https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/peter-gelderloos-anarchy-works

"To add to what others are saying, it's also kind of a circular statement. In capitalism, your level of success is a function of your will to power. If you are more willing to put down others in competition, then you will be able to amass more wealth. It should not come as a surprise that in a system that rewards the amassing of power, people try to amass power, and they are required to do so to certain extents to survive. Parents and teacher teach children to be competitive in preparation for the capitalist world. Yet, when people exhibit competitive behavior where the system requires it and after having been taught that from an early age, reactionaries point to it as evidence that humans are naturally competitive.

Capitalism derives its "efficiency" from the competitive capacities that people have. However, these capacities vary as capacity for empathy varies. Those who are less empathetic tend to be more competitive and thus rise to positions of power. This is why you see CEOs exhibiting psychopathic characteristics. We have a system that naturally allows people on the verge of psychopathy to make decisions that affect hundreds of thousands of people. It makes use of the worst apects of the human condition for productivity and progress, which inevitably encounters the contradictions upon which it is predicated.

Conversely, communism harnesses the creative will that people have to contribute to the community, in which decisions are made by the members of the community. This kind of communal collaboration is a more apparently natural than competitive ambition. The mark of humans as a more advanced species than our primate relatives is our collaborative, social character. There's a book called "Hierarchy in the Forest" by Christopher Boehm that explains how chimpanzees form themselves into hierarchies with an "alpha male" at the top. It also explains how the human resistance to domination and hierarchy are key factors that drove the evolutionary emergence of language, kinship, social organization, and conciousness, which is widely argued by paleoanthropologists.

It is argued that capitalism should continue because it has been responsible for much progress since the dawn of modern civilization, but many of those innovations have been for the benefit of a few and the disenfranchisment of many. Yes, the Cold War drove many advancements in aeronautics and education, but its purpose was to out-science and out-educate, and the multitude of terrors that came as a result of the Cold War are lingering haunting the world still. Should capitalism still be an engine for scientific progress (social progress is out of the question by the very nature of capitalism's being individualistic) if it produces similar terrors? There has been scientific progress (e.g. International Space Station and CERN) by a global and communal effort done purely for the pursuit of knowledge, which does not yield an individual tangible benefit, but drives our society forward as a whole.

Progress can be achieved for the sake of progress, and thus for the benefit of many, especially when the many are the authors of that progress. To claim that capitalism should continue because it works in accordance with human nature shows a willingness to allow selfish hunger for power to prevail, and an ignorance to our collaborative creative capabilities as humans. This is why it is laughable.
"

  1. I have read a lot about human nature. It has actually been the main area of my philosophical studies and still is. Just because some communist say that people were made not to care about themselves quite a while ago doesn’t beat biological discoveries.

  2. Arguments by communists are disregard by all the nations that have had communism in their country (mine as well) and saw it horrifically failing. Communism wants to have everybody equal and everybody with more or less same "wealth" whatever it would be without capital. That is not possible since not every person is worth as much as the other. That is utopia. Communism never worked in any given country for more than few years. And you know why? Because people are selfish. Main argument being “communism works“is a self-killing act. Every system that was yet annexed had selfish people in which fought against each other to have a better position, whatever it was in the system.

  3. You’re arguing that morals are subjective and at the same time your argument is that YOU love people, because love makes YOU happy. That loving is natural to YOU. And I could continue. Just because YOU feel this way doesn’t mean that the all HUMAN BEINGS feel this way, for they are not YOU, but THEM. And THEY can have totally different feelings about that.

  4. Funny thing is that one of the problems tackled in the post is self-voting and you have already up voted yourself for 2 bucks. You wouldn’t be able to live in a world described by you either. You have proved that you’re selfish even more than most users on this platform.

I must react first I will tell you why bees and all superorganisms as they are called are selfish there is only one queen that can reproduce and it shares genes with every one in the hive or nest the queen is extremely selfish everyone is working for her but the others work for their own genes which they share with the queen to help their own genes reproduce that is selfish they only achieve the same as us in different way. Working together is not neccesary better in evolution only fot certain organisms bacteria are really not cooparating and they survive and survived through the evolution quite well. The fact the communities are working together doesn’t mean they are not selfish they can only achieve their goals better when in community in case of humans mostly because of safety. The system is only part of our human nature but we have things written in our genes which will effect us no matter in which system we are.

I am not a big fan of caps. They are artificial and it's so difficult to set them properly. For somebody a cap of X posts or rewards a day will be still too high, while for someone else -possibly a productive quality writer - X would be too low.

Could you give a specific number? How would you find it and why would this number be better than any other?

I can try but it’s hard to want such a thought out number from single person who is not yet really experienced in the matters of the site. This should be decided on the basis of a consensus of the witnesses. I could do a research, but if no witness shows even a basic support of such idea than it would be waste of time.

But I would be interested in what you have to say about at least one specific number. My first no-research-cap would be about 3-4k dollars weekly (only concerning posts now). Usually when someone crosses this line the user falls into the category of site-milkers to me anyway. But this all is just brief and basic first idea.

That was my point, that finding such a number is difficult even for experienced people. And it will never be optimal, you will have to make tradeoffs.

That's why don't like caps. But if you could come up with some and argue for it well, then I would think about it for sure!

I'd like to hear about that as well :)

Keep us posted

I wrote about a number of solutions here: Ideas for Future Rule Changes...

Section 13 covers both self-voting and voting-circles and therefore cannot be circumvented by opening another account. Indeed, my thinking since is that it could be an even steeper drop.

As you said, and I highlighted, behaviour that is considered "bad" cannot be eradicated, it can only be reduced to the point where it does less harm. To achieve that requires encoding algorithms that change the balance towards "good" behaviour.

Defining the distinction between the two requires a clear unambiguous definition of what the ultimate aim of the whole platform is; and that should be the focus of the discussion before arguing the pros and cons of various algorithms. Without that, people will be arguing about different strategies without making it clear that they actually have different aims.

40 sec after me posting it, there is no way you have actually read it - You’re just disregarding all the hard work I’ve put into it by your spammy comment.

lol what a dirt ball !!!

Awesome post mate. Lots of valid points made.

Please can I vote now it's been 9 Mins ;-)

Feel free to do so!:DD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51