You And Your Steemit Reputation | Start Building ItsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

reputation.jpg

Every new member on this platform gets a default 25 reputation. Whenever I see someone below that number, I feel so concerned. Some people don’t know the value of reputation and how to build on it, we need to let them know the “Don’ts”.

  • Avoid plagiarism (copying and pasting another person’s content): because you like a post and its trending, doesn’t tell you to copy and paste it on your timeline. You can kindly upvote and steem. There is @cheetah here, monitoring any kind of plagiarism.
  • Don't post and run: it will be a bad idea when you post and later come to check if your post is getting an upvotes and comments without finding time to read other people's posts. This could be seen as taking from the system without giving.
  • Don't post nudity: try and respect the steemit community. You are likely to be flagged.
  • Don't engage in tag spamming: you should always use the tags that is most related to your post. You shouldn't be using tags base on payout.
  • Don't distract people's post: pasting a link on another person's post is not generally acceptable. You are likely to be flagged.

KINDLY RESTEEM TO HELP NEW MEMBERS


fingalenz upvotefollowresteem.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Welcome to steem

Ironically, the first to post here has a reputation of 8 which means he's a serial spammer. Lol

Thanks always @greenrun I believe he/she not even bother reading it. Lol

Do spammers ever read? They are either bots and bot-like in behavior. They just drop in and paste the already prepared spam on your post and disappear to the next post that is available. Hehehe.

Yeah, I've been flagging that bot all to heck lately. It needs to go away. Some bots are great, and I love them. They serve a good purpose. Then there are some that are very annoying. The good thing is that we can destroy them. ;-)

The main way to get a lot of positive reputation is for a person of high reputation to upvote your post or reply with a high % of Steem Power. For example, I only have a 55 rep, but I took someone from 44 to 45 yesterday by upvoting a bunch of their replies. It was a test, and it worked. This explains why you'll see brand new people with very high reputations.

It should work that way too. If people of high rep know the new person is of high quality and will provide good content to the platform, they should be able to quickly raise a person's reputation to give them a better standing. If someone stays at a low reputation for a long time as a new person, they are not "doing it right."

If anyone needs help understanding it better, I'll gladly assist them. :)

P.S. You can post nudity, just make sure you properly tag it with NSFW (Not safe for work). I've seen some posts like that, and I just skip over them.

You are absolutely right about being upvoted by someone with a high reputation and at high voting strength. It helps you jump some number. I usually ignore the nasty for a lot of reason. One, my steem power is not much. Two, I think if everyone ignores them they would eventually disappear.

Meaning, giving them attention is a form of encouragement. Wow

They needed attention, if no one visits their blog, upvote or do anything for them, they would surely disappear, or don't you think so?

I really like the way the system works. Quality people bring other quality people. It's the old "birds of a feather flock together" saying in action. We become who we hang out with in other words, and Steemit needs quality people to make it successful. :)

Yes, and I think it has more to do with the reputation than the SP too. A high rep person with low SP can still make a new person's rep jump very quickly. I can 100% upvote a 25 rep person a few times and get them to upper 30's. My SP is too low right now to do much though. I'm letting it recover at the moment.

Yeah, I mentioned voting strength, not steem power.
Your voting power is more depleted than mine. You'll need more than 2 days to get back to 100%. I wish I could upvote all the posts I like. Most of the time, I see posts I like and I've already exhausted the day's voting percentage. Ten or eleven votes sucks for a day of awesome steeming :)

Yes, it is a sneaky way to make users want to add money to their account though. I add a little each pay check. Once you're over 500 SP, you get a moving scale tool when upvoting. I can easily vote hundreds of times a day if I lower the percent down.

I so much appreciate your wonderful contribution. Its great having someone like you here. Following my bosses Gracias!

Thank you and I've followed you back. It's a pleasure to meet you.

How are you? Fingalenz, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

There should never be a reason to flag someone for posting nudity or sex if
It is clearly marked NSFW.

!sc ban
Part of mass spam group.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63