Steemit could totally be way better if they did this one thing...

in #steemit7 years ago

So far as I can tell Steemit is awesome! I signed up immediately. Free cryptocurrency for sharing my insights? Im in!

One thing that concerns me though is that I have been seeing a lot of posts about Steemit itself. I mean a lot. A close second behind that is travel pics. Im guessing that people are posting that stuff over and over again because it is trending and therefore what is going to earn money and I am not bashing that. I mean I want to get traffic and ultimately get a reward too. I just dont want to have to write all my posts about Steemit and I only have so many travel pics to post. I have more to share than just my enthusiasm about the platform. The more posts about it, the longer it stays in the trending category. The longer it stays in the trending category, the more posts about it. Its a vicious circle. Whatever. I'll deal with it.

The one thing, however, that i think could be done to create a little more diversity in the content is to create a way for someone to click one of the categories and do a keyword search. I mean why have the keywords (tags) if you cant search for them? I want to find things using a more focused approach. For intance, I posted a few articles on hydroponic gardening. I mean if I was looking for content about hydroponics and I was on Google, I would type in the word "hydroponics". Now I know that hydroponics is a niche topic but thought that is was enough of a curiousity to garner at least a handful of votes. I used the keywords hydroponic, garden, growing, vegetables, and one other keyword relatng to the specific topic of my post. To date I have recieved 4 votes over 4 posts. Kinda lack luster. The way its currently set up you have to click on a list of popular tags. Hydroponics is not one of them. Homesteading seems like the only word from the list of keywords that closely fits topic, but not quite. It would be really cool if you could search Steemit for keywords from a search field at the top of the page instead of searching Google. Homesteading is a great keyword, but if someone was looking for posts about hydroponics, homesteading is not the first word that would come to mind. Heck, if your looking for posts about gardening, I doubt that homesteading would be the first thing you would think of. Its probably not even the 29th word that would come to mind either.

Maybe I am missing something. If I am, could you kindly let me know with a comment. If you agree that there should be a keyword search function then let me know that too. Maybe if we get enough people on board then Steemit will add the function.

If you are curious about the posts to which i am referring. Here is a links to my posts: https://steemit.com/@fifemandu

Please RESTEEM this

Sort:  

Your post up is impressive. Followed @fifemandu

Well, I have been using the search field (magnifying glass icon next to your profile picture) to search for specific topics and so far, so good. Maybe you can give that a try? Hope this helps. 😊

Yeah. I'm an idiot. I found it though. Thanks.

We've all done something like that. No big deal. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59