My view on the future of Steemit and suggestions how we can improve as a community.

in #steemit6 years ago

experience-3239623_640.jpg

Steemit has become an integral part of my life, it is very important to me. The last 3 months I did a lot of research, worked on building ties to the community and providing value to it. Slowly I have been building up reputation, putting in about 8 hours a day to hone my skills even further.

The last 8 days however I had taken a longer break to focus on the piece I present to you today. It is a topic I think is important to discuss and I wanted to provide you , my reader with the best version possible.

There are things happening on Steemit and i am not always sure if others notice it as well. I think at least @ned should see it coming. I might be wrong here, but i think that most things that i will talk about will make sense.

Right now you need about 250-300 SBD to fund a post and have it reach the high spots on the trending page. Some people can afford that, especially if they truly believe in their posts. Others like my self cannot as we just do not have the income to spare or have not gathered such earnings here on the platform yet. In my time here I have made a total of 50 SBD earnings in my 3+months on this platform.
This amount would not bring me even close to any good rank on the trending page.

You might ask yourself, “what are your concerns?”

Well, let me break it down for you. This system allows people with $ to dominate the trending page. At the moment, the amount you need is around 250SBD. What if Steemit goes mainstream? I mean, what if more companies decide it's time to do some promotion on Steemit? This would be awesome for the platform, but what about the trending page? I think the minimum will be set on a far higher number than 250SBD required right now, this will make it a lot harder to nearly impossible for most people to ever hit the trending page unless you get a lot of whale votes

If you want to be successful on steemit you need to lay a solid foundation. One good way to do this is to write a solid introduction post under the tag of #introduceyourself. Make it clear in this post who you are and why you came to the platform. Sell yourself without over selling. It's your first impression and just like in th real world first impressions go a long way.

The second very important post is your first content post on the platform. Many people botch this because they do not research the platform before posting. You need to understand that this first post sets the tone of your work here. It is basically the first sentence you speak. Make sure what you have to say counts and is memorable.

The second post is the post that has to hit the trending page. Most people might believe (i do) that when you hit the trending page, your post will get the most views and upvotes/comments/followers. Your post will be seen by people who would normally never notice you and if you write something really good, people will appreciate that and write comments about your post. This might get you some followers that could upvote your posts sometimes which would cause you to earn the money you have invested back over a period of time. Although this is not a guarantee that anyone can give us, it is certainly a possibility.

While it's semi-possible now by investing 250SBD in a post, it will be close to impossible to do it once a trending page spot will be alot more expensive. Companies promoting their product or just rich people with good or mostly low quality posts would dominate the page. In my opinion, this would make the trending page completely useless.

Double standards

As mentioned above using upvote bots to promote a post can help you hit the trending section. However i do have to say that these bots might be the reason that people will stop writing quality posts. I think that the upvote bots are not the problem, it's the people using them for low quality posts. Also it's not just the post quality, it's also the frequency of the same people boosting their posts to the trending page. The bots are not the problem, it's human nature. When said person smells the smell of $$$, they stop caring about other things. How much should they care if they are making $ anyway?

Since we can't change human nature, the bot owners could think about changing the bots. Most people will not care about what anyone says about them as long as they are being successful and are earning money.

What can we do?

Here are some ideas I came up with and believe to be viable options. I am hoping that the people in platform management actually get to see this and might find the ideas useful.

  1. Bots should not allow the same person's posts more than x times a week.
  2. Bots could have a rule that they will not vote for a post once an x amount of bots have already voted on it.
  3. Maybe the platform could have moderators, trusted and self-proven whales which would think in the best interest of the platform. These could be assigned by @ned and they would have powers to moderate the trending page.
  4. People who don't have enough money to invest and get to the trending page could use some help. Maybe the platform could offer users a boost once they have been actively using this platform for a x amount of months?
  5. Something like #4 but without rewards. A post would be boosted so people can see them for an xx amount of hours/day(s) but the author would not earn any $ from it. (This could prevent abuse of this system maybe?)

Like many here I truly love this platform and want to see it thrive and expand.

We all spend a lot of hours on this platform which in itself shows a certain commitment to it. It provides us with ample opportunity one can make new friends, some from places far away one would otherwise never would have met. One can make a lot of money and one can learn a lot here as people from all walks of life post here. All this makes this platform valuable to us and most who use it love to be here and have interest in maintaining it. As we are a community and this is a community based platform everyone's opinion or concerns should be worth a looking into. there will always be those who destroy the hand that feeds them , the leaches and users but they are not in the majority and it is up to us to make sure that they do not gain traction.
For example i am really committed to the platform. I know 3 months does not look like much in the grand picture of things, but I have been putting in my 8 hours a day. i have also worked on helping others on the platform and have in return been helped and learned from others. This is how community should be and I really want to do more, be more of service in future .

My family owns a domain registration/hosting/dedicated server company where I am more than just a simple employee. I could give away free domain registrations and hostings for projects that will help steemit grow. Hell, I could even do something with servers which some witnesses could be interested in.

As soon as our new website is done, there is a lot I could see myself doing here for the steemit community. I'm sure there are al ot more people like me, they should have a shot at getting more exposure for what they could offer for the platform. how are we to find each other and make things happen if it is so hard to become visible and because of this so much opportunity is lost.

Thank you for reading

In closing I would like to thank you the reader for bearing with me. I know some of you might have differing opinions , or ideas that might compliment my own. I would love to discuss this with you . Please feel free to do so in the comment section. Once again thank you for your interest and support.

Sort:  

Great thoughts @ferow, I always say it that bidbots will bring the destabilization of this platform. Apart from the issue of post getting to the trending page, bidbots also allows users to rape the reward pool, it dilute the reward pool and also rake its subscribers by gaining from the service pay and the Curation reward.

Thank you for commenting and sharing your opinion. I hope someone from this platforms management will see my suggestions and might consider them.

Many thanks to @riskdebonair for resteeming this so that I had a chance to see and follow. As an entrepreneur and business owner myself, I am often sitting here racking my brains at how to maximize the return from my Steemit business and improve the platform as well.

I spend zero time looking at the trending page like nova and (perhaps wrongfully) give it very little weight in determining the quality or success of the post.

I see a picture stolen from the internet in a post that took 30 seconds to write by someone with a (60+) beside their name or a 2 minute video that is not funny or particularly informative making hundreds of dollars......and the pandering of 100 people begging for an upvote with an eloquent "great post."

I feel this will always be the case, don't let it get me down on the platform, and continue to build relationships, add content I would like to think is of high-quality, and do not have the trending page on any list of goals.

Some of these innovations you mention, to me, are the future of this platform and that is what I spend my time wracking my brain to invent, develop and share. No idea what the future holds but I intend to come up with ways to influence its direction.

Keep rolling and sharing.

I'm greatfull for that resteem as well, it resulted in such a nice comment from you! Sometimes important posts or good posts do hit the trending page, but lately those numbers have dropped drastically. The examples you gave are posts that scare big companies or famous artists to join this platform. They don't want their content to be found between low quality content which is basically on the home page of steemit. I agree that we need to keep doing our thing and just hope that it will all end well, but for that, some action has to be taken. Thank you for your comment.

Haha I have taken the contrary approach. All of my years on this rock have linked me with some well known people who blog, perform, and are good producers of social media content. "check this shit out! This guy is not funny, is pulling this right out of his ass, and made $300 in the last 3 hours by posting a 1-minute video!"

It is inspiring to folks to an extent seeing how well they could do here with the content they so lovingly produce for free.

I second that.
Nicely writen Ferow.
Hope your voice heard.

Thanks alot monk!!

A well thought out post, @ferow. Although never having intentionally visited the trending feed my hope is that the 'category' sustem in the next fork will have users visiting those categories of interest to them. This situation will probably put like minded folks together. Just having fun and upvoting comments with my homies that had come over from FB at around the same time went a long way to increasing my rep. My expectations are that categories will work in a simular fashion.

There will always be those out there to play the system. Support trustworthy witnesses to help close some loopholes, like restrictions of self voting reportedly in the next fork.

Until such loopholes are closed there will be some reward rape, yet in the bar business it would be called spillage. Just because there is $2.3 Billion in illigal ATM withdrawls a month in Singapore does not mean we stop using our ATM cards. 😎

You are right, just because some people are abusing the system does not mean others have to stop using it. It also doesn't mean the platform management should allow it. I hope we can enjoy the platform even more soon!

N'ah...just get rid of the bots.

This post has received a 1.08 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @seablue.

One big question:
How would you restrict the bots?

A smaller note:
You know trending page is also possible to be reached without buying upvotes, so going only for the price of reaching the trending page is not the perfect approach :)

The first question should be possible for the bot owners to configure their bots in a way that they accept a certain amount of $ a week per person or whatever. I'm sure bot owners know how they could configure that.

Normally yes, the trending page could be reached without bots. But these bots are here now and people use them to hit the trending page. Basically, you don't have a shot at reaching the trending page unless you get enough upvotes to pass the power of upvote bots, which can be crazy high. For a post to get 300$+ in rewards, it would need some whale votes and how many times did we see a post reach the trending page unless it was written by a whale anyway?

There is plenty to discuss, even though some people say this topic is already dead. But a topic can't be dead unless it's solved, these problems are not solved yet at all.

Bot owners can do it, but other question - why would they? There are bot owners who are thinking the best of the community and bot owners who just want to maximize their profits. Even if we can get a bunch of bot operators to run their bots more ethically, I'm quite sure there will just pop up more options which people will use.

And about the trending page, you are pretty much right. I'm hoping more people will just skip the trending page and start finding good content on their own, but the trending page is easy and attractive to many users :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86